catherineireland

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2018 - 01/11/2018

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! :)
    We are Catherine and Rowan. We have been using workaway for the past couple of years and it has become our favorite way to travel and meet people of the country, we find it extremely rewarding to be able to do something productive while in a new country.
    We are planning on visiting Peru and Colombia in January-April, We are really excited to visit these countries! we are especially interested in visiting the Amazonian regions and getting to know the people there. we would love to take our time while in this region and really get involved helping out where help is needed so we are flexible on when and how long we can stay.
    Rowan works as a professional landscaper and builder often but has taken time off over the last few years to build a small off grid cabin and develop the land we live on to work towards a more sustainable and lower impact life. I have worked in the creative arts industry as a performer, maker and teacher. At the moment I am working hard towards setting up a democratic school where we live. we are creative people who love nothing better then being in the middle of no where exploring! :)
    We both grew up on small farms so are not afraid of hard work! We are living the off grid lifestyle in Ireland and were interested in developing and sharing our knowledge of and learning more about organic farming,sustainable building/living and herbal medicines, although these are of interest to us we are open to any interesting opportunity or learning experience you might have to offer.
    We are quite an active couple so we also love any opportunity for outdoor sports!
    We are respectful, easy going open minded people with a good sense of humor :).
    Thanks for taking the time to read our profile. Please email us if you think we sound like suitable helpers. Catherine and Rowan x

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Rowan has lots of skills in conventional and non conventional/natural building ,carpentary, landscaping,painting and decorating,gardening,permaculture,and a fair amount of knowledge of smallscale 12 volt and solar/renewable electric. and I have lots of experience working in hotels,bars,restaurants and lodges and all that goes with it and Rowan also has some experience in this area I also do quite a bit of making props designing set, administration and PR in my work, I have also worked a lot with kids over the last couple of years as, minding them and doing workshops with children in classroom and festival settings

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    25 & 29

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Profile is connected to:

EveannaBishop


Photos

Gardening in Spain was lots of fun
All the wonderful people we shared our first work away experience with
Always making the most of exploring the country side at our workaways
It was such a pleasure being able to get this poly tunnel done for our host Rowena in France!

Feedback