Logan & Bridget

  • Canada & United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Two for one! (and a pretty cool combo, at that.) I'm Bridget, an ESL teacher and passionate cook, originally from the USA. Logan is from Canada, and is completing his Masters in neurolinguistics here in Groningen, Netherlands, the lovely city we currently call home. We love to eat delicious food, explore, learn, and live.

    Logan and I met in Korea, where we were both English teachers. Amidst the throes of the pandemic we moved to the Netherlands, where we've waited out the storm. Now, we're looking forward to an adventure in July-August 2021: A (mostly) overland journey from Rome to Malta. We look forward to sharing experiences with you along the way!

  • Interests

    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    History
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Bridget: For the past 10 years I have had the amazing fortune of being able to travel and work on various farms around the world. I did Wwoofing in 2011 at 3 different farms in the Pacific Northwest on a 2 year tent camping trip around the USA. In 2016 I did helpx in Mexico, France, and Italy. Now, it's 2021, and it's Workaway's time in the sun. :) I learn so much from every farm I visit, and I look forward to the new and exciting experiences that are sure to come my way. My goal is to glean as much knowledge as I can about self-sustainability, so I can implement all I've learned once we have land of our own.

    I have built chicken coops, wrangled a giant endangered hog, picked pails of berries, cleaned beaches, entertained children and pups, painted staircases and murals, shovelled for endless hours, butchered chickens, renovated properties, sold produce at farmers markets, and even castrated a bull :O

    I am a problem solver, and quite determined to finish tasks. Whatever jobs you ask of me, I will do my best to accomplish them. There are some jobs that I prefer over others, however. I prefer to cook, work outside in the garden, take care of animals, and make art and handicrafts. It is also important to me to let hosts know that I view workaway as a learning experience in self-sustainability, not as a free stay in a beautiful place. While I would never balk at a shovel or a horse stall in need of a deep clean, I did not join workaway to be a free maid. With that being said, I am here to WORK. I want help your farm grow, and to gain as much knowledge as I can along the way.

    I'd also like to challenge you to a chicken catching contest :D

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    Logan: For two summers in 2015 and 2016 I worked as a tree planter in Northern Canada. I loved getting my hands dirty and worked in all weather conditions, in order to develop and maintain forested areas in remote locations, often accessible only by helicopter. I've seen it all - from snowy hillsides and sweltering fields, to mosquito-infested marshes. I lived in a tent for the duration of my time there, with the nearest town often being a 4 hour drive away. We planted trees six days a week, and my personal best was over 4000 trees planted in a single day! As a group of 60 or so planters, we managed to plant more than 10 million trees in 4 months - that's a whole lot of new forest! I also have professional landscaping experience from my time with Buchmayer Projects in Ottawa (Canada) and love working outdoors. I'm excited to begin workaway and eager to learn, and I know I can bring a hard working and inquisitive attitude to the table.

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    Together: This past year we worked together on a lovely farm here in Groningen, where we made raised beds and shovelled our hearts out in the soggy Dutch winter. We bring a synergy and positive attitude, and any job we do together will be completed with a little extra love. :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Arabic: Beginner
    Korean: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We are both English teachers, and we are interested in learning any and all languages!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27 & 32

  • What else ...

    We cannot express enough how grateful we are to this community, to all the good people out there. Thank you. Don't stop exploring. Don't stop trusting. Don't stop giving. Let's keep this dream alive.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      None

    • Special dietary requirements
      None. We'll eat anything delicious!

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback