Brianna

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling


    I am headed to Peru on October 4, hoping to do a lot of backpacking and meeting other travelers!

  • Description

    I love the outdoors—from sports like backpacking and climbing, to just laying on the grass or beach and reading a book. I began my travels with a month of backpacking in the western US, and then nine months of traveling in Ecuador & Colombia doing a combination of Workaway and exploring. During this time I had two experiences teaching English and two experiences living and working on farms- one finca in the rainforest, and one dog rescue ranch in the mountains.
    I also have a love of learning. I am currently studying Spanish and German, and am hoping to find a Workaway position where I can practice and develop my skills with the language. I also love learning through meeting people with different backgrounds than my own. Either learning about their culture, or any unique skills they have that are different from mine.
    I grew up moving back and forth between the US (Philadelphia area) and Brazil (Sao Paulo) which instilled my need for travel and change in me at a young age. I just can’t sit still. That is why after almost 4 years working as an Electrical Engineer, I left my job to travel the world! I’m so excited to see what is out there.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Books
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    1. Engineering: I have a background (BS degree) in Electrical engineering. In addition to the engineering side of my job, I’ve also had to do a lot of electrical panel wiring and troubleshooting, which has made me good at working with my hands, often in cramped spaces, and using hand tools.

    2. Teaching: My electrical engineering role also involved instruction, both informally teaching customers as we worked together and the instruction of formal classes of 10-15 adults. I also completed the 120-hour TEFL (Teach English as a Foreign Language) certification. Since I began backpacking in October of 2020, I have volunteered in 3 Workaway programs that involved teaching English, for a total of around 3 months of experience teaching English to children.

    3. Physically capable: I am as fit as any backpacker, so I can (and would like to) help out with physical labor. Be it farming, construction, home improvement, I can probably handle it, with the exception of heavy lifting. I have now volunteered at 2 farmstay Workaway projects, one primarily involving outdoor gardening/land maintenance and the other taking care of animals.

    4. Language: Intermediate in Spanish and beginner German

    5. Collaboration: I am a great team player, I can get along with and work with just about anyone. My role as an engineer was customer-facing, so I have experience in treating customers with professionalism and kindness.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Interested in teaching English

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    I love animals- my family has had both dogs and cats growing up, so I would be happy to live somewhere surrounded by them.

    My favorite board games: Settlers of Catan, Hearts, Codenames, Dominion

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback