Justin

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Morocco, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/04/2017 - 30/04/2037

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    What a beautiful World this could be,
    What a glorious time to be free
    'Donald fagen'

    My passions are anything that is natural, Eco-freindley with a humanistic approach. Self sufficiency is the goal and I would like to see how other people do it. I find Community life inspiring and helping each other with reciprocal altruism is a blissful way of life that I want to know more about.

    I have a history of local volunteering with a national ecological charity 'Trees for Life' where I am planting and felling trees to maintain a natural balance in Scotland's last remaining 'wild forest' Glen Affric. I also volunteered at various WWOOFing venues throughout Scotland helping with gardening and maintenance as well as Community Centres projects providing adult learning tutoring.

    I have a love of building out of natural stone. This link is a stone structure I made for a very special workaway:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDbES0pFsq8&t=2s

    I have had some great success running 'Dry Stone Walling Work Shops' on a donation basis when on workaways. Not only do we share skill but the host also gets stone structures built for them. If this is something you are interested in then please let me know.

    Another one of my favourite pastimes ( and seasonal employment at the moment ) is collecting and selling WILD mushrooms for 5 month of the year. I also store these mushrooms (along with other home grown produce from the garden) to be eaten throughout the winter.

    One of the things that is wonderful about traveling is eating all the fresh ripe local fruit in the area.... yum yum...

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Building with stone - I am not a stonemason but I do have skills building with stone, dry stone walling, Lime Pointing ECT
    Organic Style Gardening incorporating permaculture
    Enjoy working with wood
    Good at DIY , have a go attitude to most jobs striving for perfection
    CAD - computer Aided design

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    46

  • Nationality

    English

  • What else ...

    My diet is vegan and I prefer to eat Raw, or rawTill4.

    I am happy to stay in old, basic, rustic buildings cooking on the fire with no electricity, or a good size tent with mattress.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan - with high raw food content

Profile is connected to:

ecbeek

LLibertat


Photos

Planting trees in Scotland 2016
2016
dry stone wall repair 2016 Scotland
Workaway Tenerife 2017. About to build a dry stone retaining wall
Workaway Tenerife 2017
Me and my dog in my garden 2017
Picking mushrooms with Tudor- 2017
Cyprus 2017,
start of the build, Cyprus 2017
Cyprus 2017
Cyprus 2017
Cyprus 2017. only half way...

Feedback