Alexander

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2021 - 01/03/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello everyone! My name is Alex and I am from southern California. I love to travel to see how life is lived in different places of the world. I believe it is very rewarding when you immerse yourself in a new place and experience a different way of living. Also, meeting new people is amazing, everyone has a great story to tell!

    I like to say I am a "people person" because I enjoy being around new personalities and sharing life with others. I am easy going and consider myself to have a lot of patience. I am curious and like to ask a lot of questions and always enjoy a conversation with someone. I have a good sense of humor and like to think that I am sometimes funny. I am adaptable and a hard worker.

    I love to learn and study languages, especially ancient ones! I absolutely love to read books! I am very active and outgoing so I spend a lot of time outdoors. I am adventurous and I love to hike and ride bicycles and exercise in general. Nature is the best place to be and learn. Photography has been a part of my life for a long time, one day I would like to make it my career. I also love to draw and paint, art has always been a passion of mine.

    I have not yet participated in a Work Away program but the idea of it sounds amazing. I would love to have the opportunity to be able to learn about a different way of living and be able to teach people new things and also learn from them!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I can help with teaching English and am comfortable learning a new language along the way. Learning a new language is important and is very beneficial to anyone and everyone. I would like to teach a language one day because teaching someone a new language will provide them with new opportunities in life!

    - 120hr TEFL/ TESOL Certified

    I have worked as a bicycle mechanic for 10 years and have been actively involved in spreading bicycle awareness within my community and others. Bicycles can help tremendously by bringing the community together in a positive way, great for the environment and can help people with transportation. I have experience teaching bicycle maintenance in Europe and North America. One day I would like to have a school to teach bicycle maintenance because I believe it is a useful skill that people can use anywhere in the world and for a good cause!

    I am comfortable using most hand tools and can help with minor reparation's. I enjoy painting and can help with art projects or help to paint an entire house! Being in nature is one of my favorite things to do and I can help with any outdoor activities like guided nature walks, sport activities and hiking or trekking activities. I have experience using Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Teams, building Powerpoint's, and email correspondence. I can also help with any Photography projects.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Sign language (American): Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    - I moved alone to Barcelona when I was 21 years old and lived 4 amazing years! I was also able to see many parts of Spain while living there. One of my favorite region's of Spain is the Basque Country!
    - Backpacked in Italy, twice
    - Colombia
    - All across the United States
    - Competed in bicycle racing in the US and Europe
    - Yoga + Meditation
    - Philosophy
    - Language + communication
    - MUSIC!
    - Ancient Civilizations
    - Writing

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback