Laura

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/06/2018 - 15/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    N┬║ of Facebook friends

    392

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi my names Laura, I am a very friendly, kind and adventurous person. I love travelling and seeing the world and living in different cultural settings.
    In May this year I achieved my goal of walking the Camino de Santiago in Spain, 799km, it was an amazing experience.
    I really want to practice my Spanish and become fluent, I understand a lot more than I speak.
    I spent 6 weeks on a turtle conservation project in Costa Rica which was one of the best experiences ever! Plus living off grid with no access to internet or electricity was so refreshing!
    I would love to get involved in any sustainable, environmental projects and live in a rural setting.
    I am currently volunteering at the butterfly gardens in Monteverde, Costa Rica until beginning of November.
    I also have a TEFL certificate so I would love to use that to teach English.
    A bit about me:
    I live on an arable farm at home, so am an outdoors person, love to walk my dogs and horse ride and be outside in general. I grow my own vegetables, compost food waste and go against the disposable society we live in.
    I have a degree in Sustainable Land Management.
    I have had a career change and now work in finance and accounts. Although my passion is still the environment.
    In 2012 I travelled for 2 years and 3 months, mainly working in remote regions of Australia and travelling around. I also visited New Zealand, Fiji, Thailand, Bali, Gili Islands.

    This year I began practicing mindfulness and meditation which has really impacted my life (in a good way). Through travelling I have realised that the simple things in life are what matters. I want to shift away from the materialistic society we live in and go back to basics. Happiness, health, love and wellbeing at the forefront.

    I want to have as many experiences as possible and make lasting memories and hopefully working hard to make a positive impact on the world along the way!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a TEFL qualification so I can teach English as a foreign language.

    I am a practical person who doesn't mind getting stuck in with any task, I have experience looking after horses and animals.
    I have knowledge of growing vegetables and sustainability which I want to grow on and increase my knowledge.
    I have worked in motels and guest accomodation in Australia which included housekeeping and working in the bar and kitchen.
    I have bookkeeping and accountancy skills if anyone needs help with their paperwork as well!

  • Languages spoken

    Basic Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback