From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2012 - 01/08/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I grew up in Richmond, Virginia but moved to Philadelphia, PA when I was still in high school to work with an organization building children's after-school/summer programs and helping a non-profit homeless aid/food distribution center. Soon after, I began studying at the University of the Arts, taking time off due to travel in Swaziland/SA then Kenya before finishing my BFA in the states in 2010.
    After university, I lived for a year on an old abandoned pier in a small shelter above the Delaware River after which I volunteered in Himachal Pradesh, India before eventually relocating to Haiku, Hawaii (Maui) to work as a zip-line tour guide.
 Since living on the islands in 2012, I fell into a variety of odd-jobs, constant travel/roaming, and a practice of completely starting over every 1-3 months through work-trade and other volunteerism until (in 2015) I accepted a position for a year in a life-sharing community as a caregiver for adults with developmental and intellectual disabilities (at Innisfree Village).
    When my commitment was finished there, at the beginning of 2016, I work-traded my way across Europe, starting in France and ending in Israel (with 14 countries in-between). Moving back to Hawaii, I found work again as a caregiver for adults with special needs (at La’akea Foundation) before traveling, working, and backpacking across Australia and New Zealand.
    In 2018, I travelled around the Baltic Sea eventually working building treehouses in Sweden, afterwards spending time in France and then New Orleans before moving back to Richmond, Virginia at the start of the year.
    I always love meeting new hosts and am constantly in awe of the hospitality I have received, grateful to be accepted into stranger's homes and lives all over the world.
    This year, I am attempting to slow down/understand and articulate to myself the experiences I’ve had over the past decade. However, I still want to be connected to the Workaway community and am always searching for friendly people, good work, and new perspectives.
 I look forward to meeting you, hearing and seeing and learning about how you live your life. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
  • What skills do you have?

    I'm interested in permaculture and farming in any capacity (gardening and growing). Although not very experienced in carpentry, I am young-ish and able bodied and can learn whatever you show me. Landscaping work in the same fashion. I also have a bachelors in fine arts and feel capable in most forms of media production. I'm pretty good with people and understand customer relations. I'm a good learner and enjoy the process of being taught, so as long as you have a minute to show me how you want something done, I can follow directions.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age


  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    Work-trade has changed the course of my life over the last 8 years. There are so many great ideas and beautiful projects to be apart of in this world and I'm so grateful for communities that support these types of exchanges.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements