Joyelle

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/11/2018 - 20/11/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    I am a person who is passionate about social and environmental issues and someone who loves adventure.
    I've been growing gardens for the past 4 years intensively, but off and on since my 20's. I'm a community organizer as well and was on the steering committee of Transition Toronto for 4 years where I organized workshops on gardening, seed saving, composting and other practical life skills to help our communities become more resilient.
    It's my goal to learn more advanced skills, techniques and principles about growing food as naturally as possible and am currently studying permaculture online to learn about and apply this philosophy of living in alignment with natural process to my life. Eventually, I plan to transition to a new career of growing an organic farm and teaching others how to do so successfully.
    In addition to growing healthy organic food, I enjoy learning French culture and language because my background is French Canadian - my mother from Quebec and father from Northern Ontario. I look forward to the opportunity to immerse myself in a French-speaking household so that I can revive my French speaking skills in preparation for travel to Europe.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening, cooking, computer skills, web design/maintenance, public speaking, training, social media, course development - online/classroom

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    60

  • What else ...

    I've volunteered at 6 locations with WWOOF. Here's a review of one of my stays: https://wwoof.ca/our-first-experience-wwoofer-hosts-and-we

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Ovo-lacto vegetarian

Photos

Feedback