From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, France, India, Nepal, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/11/2018 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    ***A little update, so I'm now towards the end of my year off from work and well still feel it's good for me to explore a little more for another year. I have learned lots from the people I've met and about myself I think and of course picked up a few skills. So I plan at the moment to spend the rest of the summer in Europe and then in autumn possibly venture towards Nepal and India. ****
    My actual profile!
    Hi!! I'm new to workaway but am very excited at the chance to travel and experience different places, meet wonderful people and share what I also have. I am 36 from the south east of Ireland a place called Wexford. Its a town on the coast so beautiful beaches and countryside which I love. I like to run regularly near my home at a beach with forest ..not competitive as of yet! I just love running in nature and the quietness. I like to meditate daily too and have recently started yoga. But its not all quietness and solitude! I love music and literature and the arts and well anything new really I love ideas and people who are passionate about life and willing to share their views. I go to a lot of music gigs, plays, music festivals and literary festivals. I've travelled a good bit, initially when I was 26 I took a year off work and travelled around Australia camping mostly and spent 2 months in new Zealand also. I've also been to Asia, North America briefly South America, Mongolia, Madagascar, and lots of Europe. When travelling I love hiking and experiencing nature as openly as possible so I've done a lot of camping and horse trips with camping. Oh and my job! I'm a physiotherapist and have worked in hospitals, so far in various areas but more recently in intensive care. Now I'm at the beginning of a year off work to have new experiences...so yes to travel too but most important for me now is the experience and the people not particularly the location/country. To start my year i decided to do a camino with no definite end point!...but now I am nearing the end of my Camino, which I started in early Sept in France and hope to finish now in Finisterre.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Good at teaching as I use this in my job.
    Love meeting people.
    Passionate about new ideas caring for the world and for people so being respectful and open.
    Love fun, music, art, literature, nature and ideas and discussing them and challenging my own and others beliefs.
    Good with animals and love being around them, I ride horses and have experience looking after friends dogs(big and small!) Experience on grandparents farm with sheep and cattle.
    Very experienced with elderly people and people with disabilities/illnesses from my job(although I don't like to categorize or put people in groups but difficult when describing skills!)
    Gardening work as my parents are passionate about gardening and have a large garden.
    Looking after children and having fun with them!! My brother and sister both have young kids and a few close friends too and i love to look after their kids but for me I see it more as spending time with people I like and sharing with them and enjoying their wonderful young minds. But obviously being the serious and responsible adult as needed!
    Cooking..I'm not fantastic!! But pretty good and like to be healthy and eat local foods and responsibly. (I love baking too).
    There maybe something's I'm forgetting but basically I'm open minded and like to learn new skills and I'm not afraid of hard work.
    Oh and very important I've a good sense of humour!!

  • Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Age


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I try not to eat meat and try to eat healthy and chose local foods if possible.