Matt & Scott

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/06/2015 - 02/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Scott. I am a 23 year old student who is finishing up a degree in Environmental Science in Michigan's beautiful Upper Peninsula. Volunteer work has become something of a passion of mine, ever since Matt, myself, and our other best friend Richard took a summer to travel and volunteer around Southeast Asia. Since then, I have sought to experience life to the fullest and give back to the people and places that have done so much for me. In traveling through a dozen countries and experiencing eco-building construction, organic farming, environmental education, and primary school teaching, I have settled into Marquette, Michigan for university. Here, I have taken an active role volunteering in a housing cooperative centered around sustainable living. In my future, I plan to continue this pattern of traveling and volunteering with a position in the Peace Corps come Fall 2019. Through all of my experiences, I have developed into a very passionate individual who takes pride in my work. I work hard and I love to help others in any way that I can, striving to learn as much as possible along the way.

    Matt - I'm 25 years old and currently work with youth ages 6-16 at an after school facility geared towards promoting personal growth, academic success, and healthy relationships. My passion to engage youth through games, activities, lessons, and valuable conversations is a fire that only grows when I have the opportunity to travel and offer my skills outside of my home country. Through my travels and various jobs, I’ve had the opportunity to not only work with children, but also contribute to hands on projects that involve eco-building, construction, maintenance, farming, and landscaping. I always travel with a willingness and desire to be challenged, try new things, and to make a difference.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Together, we have a wide variety of useful skills that include:
    -Environmental Education
    -Application of environmental science/natural resources knowledge
    -Non-profit management
    -Business management
    - Cooking abilities
    - Customer service skills
    - Child care
    - Teaching
    - Eco-building construction
    -General maintenance/ construction
    - Good attitude

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26 & 24

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    More important than any skills or knowledge we are reliable, passionate, open minded, and kind-hearted guys looking to contribute and learn in as many ways that we can. We firmly believe that any experience is amplified by the people you meet, the connections you make, and the roots you grow. As volunteers at your project, we are sure to bring a one of a kind atmosphere that will develop lifelong memories, experiences, and friendships.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Profile is connected to:

kaliem


Photos

Feedback