David & Tanya

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Australia, Bolivia, Canada, Cyprus, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/06/2019 - 31/03/2029

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    863

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

Watch my profile video


  • Our status

    Travelling


    Two middle-aged dreamers. Shining the light for others to Live Large Be Brave and Have Fun. Travelling the world by foot: Living, Loving, Learning, & Growing.

  • Description

    We thought it was time to update our profile, as we have now been travelling three years and have had the most amazing Workaway experiences around the world. David and I left mainstream working life in October 2017 after making the decision that there was more to life than saving for retirement. We set off to create and experience an extraordinary life!

    After three years as travelling companions we have decided to go solo. So any enquiries regarding hosting would be from only one of us. However, we are still sharing this site so as to not lose all of the amazing references we have been given.

    Before we started on our adventure we both had long professional careers, David was in the Army for 20 years, then moved into Safety Management. Myself, I am a hospitality professional starting in the industry as an apprentice chef and working my way up to managing hotels around Australia.

    We are both happy-go-lucky people who enjoy interesting conversation and up for a good debate at anytime. Not to say we are argumentative but love to explore other people's perspectives. David is a logical, systematic thinker , I’m big picture type of gal.

    We are home in Australia due to Covid and decided rather than going back to our normal pre-adventure lives we would experience the Australian Workaway scene having had amazing experiences overseas.

    We both enjoy working as a team as well as on individual tasks, our aim in any Workaway is to make the host's life better. We have tackled a variety of projects, such as building a terraced vegetable garden as well as just helping out with household daily routine. We are extremely flexible with whatever needs doing.

    We are both non smokers and believe ourselves to be fun, fit & healthy. 

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in: 

    DIY and building projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Having lived a few more years than most Workawayer's, we bring with us a plethora of skill.

    David has acquired a number of skills across many disciplines including property maintenance, gardening, wood splitting, animal care, anything with power tools, operating tractors and quads etc and he is great at digging ;).

    Myself, I love gardening and animals, currently I am learning more about permaculture. I am a qualified chef, so it goes without saying I love to cook. I always say I am a jack of all trades.

    But I think the greatest skill we bring with us is adaptability and an attitude of, we will try anything. I would also hope we bring a little bit of wisdom to the party otherwise my grey hairs are for nothing :0.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    54 & 54

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    Although all our reference are for the two of us, we have both contributed equally to all of our workaway experiences . Any offer's for help will now only be for one of us (depending on who applies).

    We are not coupled to our phones, there is no place for them in the paddock or garden. We are retired and travel is our life now so we are very flexible with dates and locations, looking to the universe to give us direction.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback