Tamara & Tamara

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2018 - 01/02/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    My name is Tamara, I'm an Australian. 26 years old. Single traveller.

    *This account is still set as a couples account - I travelled with a friend for a month, just myself now seeking a Workaway!

    I've been active on Workaway since late 2018 in Peru, Czech, Hungary, Portugal and home in Australia. Between travelling and studying Herbalism, I've spent months of my time helping on eco projects, permaculture farms, orchards and vineyards, gaining a deeper insight into land and people care, developing my own understanding of permaculture, connectedness to land and self.

    What I’m seeking through Workaway is to feel part of a community of people striving to take care of the earth, each other and themselves. Travelling teaches me that there are so many diverse ways of life and I’m open to experiencing something new every day. I love discussing philosophy, life, spirituality and all things in between.
    Here's a bit more about me and what I could possibly offer during my stay and what I’d love to learn more about, I would love to know what tasks you have available at the moment.

    ~ Herbalism ~
    I have been learning different practices and methods in Herbalism in Australia, England and Czech. I have gained practical and theoretical knowledge of herbs through studying in England and Workaway experiences. I bring knowledge of growing, picking, drying, storing and making preparations (tincture making, distillations and creams/salves) as well as exploring the deep delving into plant communication and tea ceremony. I understand there is always something new to learn in the plant world, and enjoy listening to plants in nature and building a relationship with the local surroundings.

    ~ Permaculture & Land Care ~
    Along with herbalism, I have learnt and continue to learn and apply new permaculture practices, specifically food forest growth, composting systems, forestry, food preservation and anything to do with the sustainable growth of food! I love experimenting in the kitchen and cooking for/with lots of people. I enjoy eating consciously, urban foraging for wasted food and no waste cooking.

    ~ Childcare ~
    My first Workaway in Peru 2018 involved assisting a Shaman and his wife with Plant Medicine ceremonies, as well as spending 4-6+ hours unsupervised with their beautiful 10 months old child.

    ~Events ~
    I have worked in events in Australia and would love to join on any events/workshops to learn more, assist and work with a team of like-minded people to share the magic of plant medicine/ herbalism with wider communities. I coordinated a large 10 night 'event/action' for my local Environmental Activist group in January/February 2020 with 20+ volunteers and 40+ performers. More recently I have had fun working with small groups facilitating women's circles and tea meditations with my friends.

    ~ General ~
    Cleaning and domestic duties I’m capable and happy to help with, I love feeling part of a community and working to make it flow, function and operate to make everyone comfortable in the shared space.


    In free time I enjoy all the usual things, hiking, exploring, yoga, meditation, socialising, reading, poetry and music making.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Permaculture & Herbalism (student)
    Domestic duties
    Farm work / eco projects
    I can milk goats!
    Gardening general
    Childcare
    Workshop/Events (meditation/circles/activism)
    Digital Marketing (past work - no longer work in this field but have lots of knowledge)

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26 & 26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback