Stephanie

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/04/2018 - 18/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    538

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Stephanie and I am 24 years old. I currently live in Calgary AB. I previously used Work Away in 2018 to travel through British Columbia. I have returned to work away now in 2020 to seek out a suitable arrangement for myself and my rescue dog Peaches. I have lived in Calgary for 12 years and I feel in my soul it is time for a change. No more long cold winters! I want to use this next Work Away opportunity to pin point exactly where I want to call home. Nanaimo is promising to me. It boasts a flourishing restaurant scene and a university. Which is essential in my next chapter of life as I continue my education to become an advocate for at risk youth.

    Firstly I will tell you a little about what I have been up to in the past 2 years. After my work away Farm stays on Salt Spring island in 2018 my mother and I backpacked through Europe for 1 month. We saw the likes of Berlin, Paris, Amsterdam, Rotterdam, and The Hague! This trip brought us much joy. Upon returning home I continued my career as a lead cook in Calgary at one of Calgary's wonderful restaurants Char Bar, an Argentinian steak house. Working in a professional kitchen teaches you many things, the late Anthony Bourdain says it best:
    "You can always tell when a person has worked in a restaurant. There's an empathy that can only be cultivated by those who've stood between a hungry mouth and a $28 pork chop, a special understanding of the way a bunch of motley misfits can be a family. Service industry work develops the "soft skills" recruiters talk about on LinkedIn — discipline, promptness, the ability to absorb criticism, and most important, how to read people like a book. The work is thankless and fun and messy, and the world would be a kinder place if more people tried it. With all due respect to my former professors, I've long believed I gained more knowledge in kitchens, bars, and dining rooms than any college could even hold. Working in a restaurant, you see the full spectrum of behavior and emotions. The best is in the kitchen, where people from different backgrounds who speak different languages work together. It's in the enduring friendships made between trips from kitchen to table — full hands both ways, of course — and fortified at the bar once the money's been counted and the floors have been swept. It's at family meal, a service industry tradition other fields really ought to copycat." - Anthony Bourdain
    2019 for me was spent saving up money so I could take my first Solo trip to South Africa! I traveled for a month seeing Cape Town, Johannesburg, Greyton, Knysna, Port Elizabeth, Durban & St. Lucia. I endured some safaris and met many beautiful people, I will be going back hopefully soon!

    During April 2020 in the beginning of the Pandemic I rescued a small dog. Her name is now Peaches, she is 6 years old. I got Peaches from a cruel women who used her only for mass breeding purposes. She had never left the kennel, and had no social skills. I have transformed her life in only a small period of time and she has also transformed mine! Peaches has only 2 teeth left, the rest were completely rotten causing infection to begin seeping into the jaw bone. initially we thought she was deaf but once her ear mites cured she has perfect hearing. Peaches also has a heart murmur & enlarged heart so she takes a daily medication. She is a King Charles Spaniel; think of Lady from Lady & the Tramp! she is 15 pounds, and has never barked once since the day I got her. She is my best friend. She is very dependent on me and I can not leave her behind. However keep in mind shes very shy, she cowers upon meeting new people. However my trainer says its good for healthy new introductions and we need to allow her to meet new people and new dogs. She loves all animals its more so people shes having hard time trusting. A mixture of spoiling her with treats and showing her love, will surely gain her trust!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    So your wondering how can I contribute to your home? Well I can cook for you if thats somthing you would like, or we can cook together. I keep a neat home no problems tidying I have worked professionally as a house cleaner in the past. I can garden, I am not afraid of labor work, I enjoy it! I love animals, I can take care of any animal big or small. If you have children of your own or maybe grand children I can help entertain them! I can also care for them. It is a grand passion of mine to contribute to the up bringing in anyway big or small of our next generation. I am very easy going, any task you can think of I will help you concur it!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I would like all hosts to know that my knowledge is not limited to only a handful of skill sets. I am willing to do whatever it takes and to learn as much as possible along the way. I truly believe I am capable of doing anything I set my mind to. I am looking forward to beginning my new chapter of life in beautiful British Columbia!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback