Sheri & Caleb

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    Puerto Rico - from Feb 2022
    View all
  • Description

    I’m a sole parent with prior chapters including 5 years of traveling while in my 30’s.
    As my son is now nearly 15, and we have been living in Vermont for these years apart from a 6 month travel to EU and South America, I want to be sure he continues to get a sense of the wider world and an understanding that he is a citizen of it. My son has been Waldorf educated and loves to read, draw and play the fiddle. He is great with younger children as well as kids his age and slightly older. He loves animals of all kinds. We both are people who like to see the product of our work whether it be keeping the household filled with nutritious food, cooking meals, cleaning, outdoor projects with the use of our bodies or the visible movement of a project. We’ve gardened in just a couple of garden beds but enjoy the yield very much. With the maturity of my son, he and I have maintained our homestead - with hard work but with always making time for fun too. We like to bike ride, hike, swim, camp, kayak, draw, explore.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening, cooking, rolling up our sleeves and working diligently at anything with some guidance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    Interested, always, in learning any language for any country we are visiting.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    51 & 19

  • What else ...

    My son, now 14, has applied himself here at home to lawn mowing many lawns as he saves for a mountain bike. He has had many report their appreciation for his commitment to quality work. He was given a trimmer and is so proud finishing off each job with a good feeling of completing his work with care.

    He loves to mountain bike, I love to be active doing almost anything but :) as i'm fearful of falling. We find many common interests when spending family time together.

    I want to teach my son the value of sharing an experience with a local family where we go and that to 'afford' a great experience can be done in ways other than money. We both work hard and take pride in our work.(NOTE: our first work away in Slovenia was just a year after I had cancer and it was a heat wave so I was finding it difficult to hit the chores hard and my son was not expected at that time to help).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback