Rick

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Spain, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/08/2019 - 01/08/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    493

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi!

    October 2019 - I'm currently in Switzerland until the 12th, after which I'm planning to slowly travel to Sicily. So my next destination = northern Italy!

    On my travels I'm especially interested in..
    - carpentry and natural building
    - (organic) farming and permaculture
    - working with tools and machinery
    - tending to livestock
    - intentionality and authenticity!

    .. But I'm certainly open to other jobs as well. For example, hospitality (bartending, barista, reception), public speaking, cooking, sales, hiking/outdoors.

    About me:
    I grew up in different countries (the Netherlands and Bulgaria), studied extensively, lived in Shanghai and England, and I consider myself to have broad horizons and an open mind. Life is exciting to me when I create new experiences. At various points in my professional life I've been a guitar salesman, academic researcher, bartender/barista, and lastly I worked as an educator for school children/teenagers at a museum about the refugee 'experience'.

    I left the Netherlands to acquire and develop more practical skills, such as in natural building and permaculture. My goal is to become at least an intermediately experienced and self-sufficient person. In the future I would like to be able to live off-grid.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    My experience in manual labor and technical work began with watching and helping my dad work around the house. This gave me a rudimentary understanding of plumbing, carpentry, construction, cleaning, electronics, mechanics, and working with tools and machinery. At my previous Workaway hosts, I gained some more experience in natural building (carpentry, woodcarving, reed, lime, rock walls) and renovation (power tools, painting, waxing), using larger tools and machinery (e.g. nail guns, jigsaw, miter saw, electric chainsaw, hedge and string trimmers) and organic gardening/farming. Also, I can chop wood for hours on end. I've also spent some hours with a small digger and a dumper truck. In general I use machinery in a responsible and calm manner. As one of my Workaway hosts said, he trusts me because I'm not as gung-ho as some others..

    Finally, I have many 'informal' skills that I care about. I'm a good listener, mediator and can give considerate advice to people who face difficult circumstances or thoughts. Throughout my life, I've been intrigued with human diversity and social phenomena, and consider myself experienced and adaptive in different environments. Language-exchange and teaching English are also what I enjoy and am good at. I spent 9 years in English-speaking education. If you need me to proof-read websites or other written material, I'd be happy to help out.

    I'm also confident of being respectful, curious, cooperative and effective in teamwork. Additionally I've been described by others as calming, humble and honest. Some of my weaknesses include over-thinking, a light case of OCD, a no-nonsense attitude (which can be an advantage in some contexts), and occasional laziness.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, some French/German/Bulgarian/Mandarin/Thai/Portugese/Italian

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    My personal interests include foraging (especially mushrooms), counter-culture, alternative philosophies, hiking and exploring, climbing, meditation, yoga, migration and refugee-related news and policymaking, literature, movies and videogames, playing guitar, singing, all kinds of food, cooking, psychedelic-assisted psychotherapy, good conversations with strangers, and having a fun night out.

    MA in Public Administration, Governance of Migration and Diversity

    Certified in First-Aid and as Emergency Response Officer.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Profile is connected to:

VivianeSchoen


Photos

Workaway in the Vosges, France (Aug-Sept 2019). My first experience with building a timber frame + rubble/lime mortar foundation for a strawbale house!
My previous job: Engaging ages 10-20 about the refugee 'experience'. What is it like to have to flee your country of origin? What are the social, economic, political and legal implications of large numbers of refugees newly arrived in the Dutch and other European societies? I'm proud to have been in a position to foster understanding among young people on this important topic.
Kapelle-op-den-Bos, Belgium 2018
Huge pile of shit, Wales 2018
Logging and chopping loads of wood, Lakes District, England 2017-18

Feedback