Rachel

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2020 - 01/01/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Immersing myself in the outdoors and away from technology is what makes me happiest and fulfilled. I am motivated to learn hands-on skills from future hosts.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I am a student at the University of Vermont. I am studying Environmental Studies. Because of the Covid pandemic, I decided to take a semester off from my sophomore year. I enjoy being outside, camping, hiking, rock climbing, circus arts, cooking, baking, and am open to learning new skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    I am interested in learning more about "sustainability" on many different levels. From an agricultural level, societal level and economic level. If nothing else, we've learned from Covid that our current system isn't working.

    I grew up in a multi-generational home, where we, as a family, cared for my disabled grandfather, and then eventually I cared for my disabled dad. I'm also very close with my other set of grandparents. And during non-Covid times, I spend a great deal of time hanging out with them.
    Currently, I'm outdoor-nannying - taking care of children during the day so that their parents can work. I plan hikes, outings and games to keep them occupied during the day.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no, but I am open to eating a vegan/vegetarian diet

Feedback