Portia

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/01/2019 - 16/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Portia, a quiet, tall Australian. I'm in the UK for 2019, having taken a year's leave from my teaching job.
    I am an avid reader and adore animals. Happy to get out there and give everything a go. Pretty relaxed and easy going, I can go with the flow most of the time. I love being in nature. I ride horses and walk a lot.
    I am looking to work my way around the UK, seeing landscapes and taking in the rich history it has to offer. My grandfather was originally from the UK and am hoping to see some of where he grew up while I'm around.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a qualified Australian primary school teacher, can hang out with and teach kids!

    I love being around horses. Agisted horses have been kept at my family property before so I can feed, tack up, wash horses and other general horse care including poo-picking fields. Stables are pretty new to me but I'm sure they're easy to pick up! I do ride, would put myself at an intermediate level. I have been riding simple dressage with my current instructor for the last two years but on my own tend to trail ride more than anything. I can ride for you but I am pretty tall (6').

    I can befriend most cats! Animal care is my passion and a field I might move into after teaching. I've had multiple rescues, helped socialise stray cats and regularly volunteer at RSPCA events.

    I can cook basic vegetarian meals and generally keep house (though my ironing skills are not amazing due to outsourcing that job for my working years thus far).

    I can weed gardens. I've dug holes and planted trees but not so much intricate garden care. Willing to try if need be!

    I can write quite well if you need that for your business or home.

    Many moons ago I helped my parents while they built the house, assisting with random things like helping screw things together, grouting, cleaning walls and painting rooms. I'd be rusty but game to take on some building/decorating if you are!

    I love learning and if we have a chat about how you want something done, I should be able to pick up most things!
    I'm pretty open minded and don't mind getting out of my comfort zone and doing new jobs. I'm taking a break after opening a school.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    I am pretty easy going. Happy to socialise but also happy to do my own thing depending on the vibe of your place. I love my sleep, generally an early riser but respectful of those who like sleep-ins. I don't drink often, usually only at social events. I love board games and trivia but am pretty rubbish at both. Doesn't stop me!
    I love being in nature and like to go walking and am hoping to see the local areas around where I stay. I am interested in the rich history of Britain. I also love English Gardens and museums. I do not have a car so will be taking public transport and walking about. I'm not afraid of a bit of distance or a bit of weather.
    I love animals! I would love to help you with your animal care, but I am open to doing a variety of jobs in my stay with you.
    I'd like to establish clear expectations before arriving so that we both know that we're a good match for each other. I don't want to let anyone down. Look forward to chatting!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vego. I've lived with carnies before and just usually leave out the meat or make my own simple meals.

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more