Tara-lee & Pierre David

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2019 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a family of 4 ( with two children aged 17, 14) that want to travel while giving our work skills to help others. We spent about 10 months in 2015 doing Workaway in Majorca, Spain, Portugal and Turkey. Every moment was an amazing experience for us as a family. On returning to South Africa we settled on a farm where we grow some of our own food, keep chickens and live a simple life. We home-educate our children which makes it possible for us to travel again, this time focusing on England (we will have the correct visa for working in the UK). Our dedication to hard work and self discipline makes us the ideal family to help you on your projects. We have a large skills base, many interests and multiple hobbies. Our accommodation needs are very simple and we are willing to share two rooms.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Pierre is currently a Marketing Director who can: Design websites, electronic mailers and all other forms of electronic media as well as SEO. He can also design print media for example: adverts, brochures, business cards, logos, signage, billboards, etc. He has lectured in Marketing at the University of Stellenbosch. He is a qualified and experienced photographer. Pierre is experienced in CRM (Customer Relationship Marketing) and has helped several companies including tourism businesses to increase their income using CRM systems. Pierre's favourite hobby is growing his organic vegetables as well as making home made yogurt.

    I, Tara-lee, home-educate my two children. Our oldest daughter has left home and is on her own travel journey in China at the moment. My teaching skills include subjects such as English, Math, Social Sciences, sewing, cooking, painting etc. I assist Pierre with his Marketing as a graphic designer and social media expert (I also design websites - have a look at this site I designed: http://www.hagarschoice.org). I play the guitar and sing as well as enjoy painting. I am very good at housekeeping, cooking, baking, bread making and sewing. I can also help with child care as well as infant care. I love reading aloud to my children. I also enjoy learning new languages. An important part of my life at the moment is caring for the needs of babies in crises as our home is a safety home for children in crises. Spending time in my art studio, painting and creating, is also a very important part of my life. If you would like to look at my art portfolio - https://www.taralee.co.za/
    My son, Bradley, is a hands-on skilled worker with hobbies such as woodworking, welding, mechanics and chicken farming (he manages his own brood of about 25 chickens).

    All our children are used to helping out with chores in and around the home. They are very well behaved and love traveling.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Afrikaans

  • Age

    43 & 53

  • Nationality

    South African

  • What else ...

    Two roomed accommodation would be sufficient for us as a family.
    We have a travel blog we love to update about our travels: https://diaryofatravelingfamily.wordpress.com/
    Some of the projects Pierre has worked on recently:

    https://www.porterwil.co.za/ - Pierre built this website as part of a marketing campaign.

    http://www.housepalme.com.na/ - for this site I also did all the photography, design of maps, brochures and this website's design.
    http://www.halftimesa.co.za/ - on this project I helped with marketing for the organisation and also designed this website.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Learning more about olives in Patara, Turkey!
Eating at a typical Turkish restaurant in Kalkan, Turkey.
Helping a wonderful famliy in a village outside of Ankara, Turkey!
Farming in Turkey
Pierre & Tara-lee
Walking up the Inca mountain to celebrate the Festival of the Angel, honoring the day Jesus revealed himself risen. On the island of Majorca.
Workawaying at a permaculture farm in Portugal.
The children goat herding at a workaway in Portugal.
Celebrating a great workaway time with our hosts in Granada, Spain.
One of Bradley's "girls".

Feedback