Bruce & Jennifer

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, France, Italy, Portugal, South Africa, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 17/03/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are true foodies, gardeners, woodworkers and builders, versatile and experienced in most aspects of both giving guests a memorable visit and of keeping a rural property working. Invent Moulin Rouge Marmalade, tame another patch of forest or make a cabinet for a built-in dishwasher made mobile, all workaday tasks. We are considering planting the garlic early, inviting a house-sitter and go Workaway for 3 or 4 months while it is still warm where you are (or getting warm.) What would you propose to entice us to your home?
    K
    We are Jennifer and Bruce, also Workaway hosts and realized this could be an marvelous way to realize our own travel ambitions. We build, renovate, landscape and garden. We hold cooking classes, have an small B&B, grow and preserve food plus cook and love to do hired-in dinner parties for 10 to 16 people. We would dearly love to assist someone else trying to do similar stuff OR who just want to use our skills in exchange for letting us stay in a marvelous location. We seek a longer-term exchange: three weeks to several months. We would love to be deep in the middle of whatever your country calls NOWHERE but I guess we can appreciate a city too; we spent several months in Paris.
    host profile https://www.workaway.info/639342675816-en.html Garden Adventures for Foodies: Bringing the world into mid-nowhere British Columbia.
    K
    We all have fantasies but ours include
    Both: Haunt the local markets; work in the vineyard or citrus/olive grove; help rebuild an old farm or chateau or pension; hep you set-up and cook a country wedding for 30 to 90 people. Basically, do what we do here but there.
    Jenn: create, cook, serve; learn the culinary styles of your region; learn some old-style canning from Gran; milk goats, make cheese, make wine; brine olives. Do heavy duty smash-bash-crash.
    Bruce: build, finish, nurture plants, pretend to be a waiter, pretend to be a sous-chef.
    We are willing to assist in doing whatever you do in your family but we hope for a true exchange where we both learn from each other. We hope our stay with you can be multi-faceted; happiest if you can give us a variety of challenges in our exchange. A primary task is OK but not as the only activity. One exclusion: we are not offering housekeeping or childcare except very occasionally.
    K
    Jenn has over 20 years as chef in fine dining establishments. She could certainly manage the kitchen of a good size restaurant or the commissary of a large crew. Have you missed the chance of learning from your Workawayers because you have to produce meals for them EVERYDAY? Invite us in and maybe you will get a staycation! Perhaps you will have a start or end-of-the-year crowd you must feed and entertain; for 13 years we have hosted a welcome-winter party for what is now touching 70 people, all in a cottage that is barely more than 90 square meters.
    K
    Bruce transformed the plywood shack he bought into the most gawdawful too cute cottage we live in and that everyone wants to come stay in. Half the time he hires a structural carpenter to do the bones; other half time he does it himself. Regardless, he has done essentially all the finish work: plumbing, electric wiring, paneling, flooring, siding, decking. He is a patient, meticulous worker when he knows his meticularity will yield a beautiful result. He is also lead gardener, landscape designer and primary dogs-body for Jenn's insidious plans. He does assist in the food and has his own master-works to be proud of. He also sews. Do not expect couturier but if you want to replace the cushion covers on your deck chairs or make an awning to stretch over your pergola, he should be able to help,
    K
    The time we usually permit ourselves to travel is from mid-September to mid-March. Before then our gardens need our love; after we must be here to manage the spring flooding and get the tomatillos started for a June transplant. A non-winter exchange could be possible if we can arrange someone to cover our tasks.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Beyond labour
    Both: polyvalent
    Jenn: Chef, canner, cooking teacher, eclectic designer and decorator, formal dinner party planner, chop saw lady, fundraiser, unintentional kid fascinator.
    Bruce: Retired forester (harvest, regeneration, vegetation control, bioremediation,) designer, builder, finish carpenter, electrician, plumber, parasol repairer, awning sewer, gardener, sprout and micro-green grower, tomato pruner, waiter, sous-chef, scullery boy.
    K
    Our home is on a rural property with all the tasks and figure-it-outs that that entails. We built and landscaped most of the buildings and gardens.
    Both of us can live happily without a mobile phone. Until recently, neither of us owned one.

  • Languages spoken

    English as a first language; a perpetually beginner's french

  • Age

    68 & 55

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    We cannot go where there are people who smoke inside.
    Our "Travelling To" list is not exclusive. We could go anywhere if it felt right or you persuaded us (and I did not have to shovel snow.) Imagine your own unique way you could use our skills; test us.
    We would likely want to work long hours some days so to be free to go exploring on others.
    If you have a B&B, hostel or pension on the Camino Real or some other long distance walk/ride/run, maybe we can come and make you famous for fabulous food for a few months.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Us doing a food thing at home - Petty Catwater.
Once a Foodie ...
Still a Foodie.
Thrilled to find Bouquet Garnis Prêt à la Cuisine
Why travel if not to shop handbags?
Jenn leading a class
Class project!
Bruce's hobbies: gardens and building.

Feedback