Paul

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/09/2020 - 01/01/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Meeting new people and learning new skills motivaties me and makes me happy.

    Each person has his or her own story and I love to hear those stores. I believe our stories are how we experience and shape the world which we all share.

    The more skills I have, the richer the story I live can become. So that's why I love learn new skills.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Skills that I have:

    After working for 7 years experience as a 'professional full time software developer' I had enough of sitting behind a desk for 40 hours every week. So in april 2020 I sold my house, car, motorcycle, almost all my other possessions and started to travel through Europe in search for inspiring people and other ways to live (off grid, permaculture, etc.)

    As you can imagine, I have skill 'with computers'.

    I like to work with wood. Wood chopping and cutting is something I have experience with.

    When I bought my house it needed a lot of care and attention. I had to do a lot of DIY stuff like painting walls, doors and windows, decorate walls with wallpaper, put in a wooden floor, some basic electricity stuff, build a simple table and all sort of other small tasks.

    I love all kinds of animals. When I see a dog, I want to play with it. When I see a cat, I want to pet it. When I see a group of chickens I can stare at them and enjoy how they peck around without a care in the world. So working with animals is something that I like to do.

    So far, I have basic experience with gardening from my own small garden and from helping a bit in other people's gardens. Gardening is another passion of mine. I simply love things that grow. I remember very foldy the first time that I harvested a plant that I grew myself in my own garden, and used it in a meal. It was such a rewarding, primal feeling of satisfaction. I love to experience more of that.

    Harvesting my own food and cooking it brings me to another skill that I love to use and develop further: cooking. I love to make a nice dish and share it with people. I have found that sharing food is one of the best ways to connect with people. And I think that after having followed many recipes, I now can improvise a meal on the spot with some random given ingredients. Learning new recipes and cooking techniques is something that I would love to do.

    Sharing the vibrations of my didgeridoo is my biggest passion. I've playing my didgeridoo for about three years now and it has given me so much in life. From making friends in festivals to helping people heal.

    I also play a bit of mouth harp and can make some nice tunes on my Native American flutes.

    New skills that I love to learn:

    Building/construction in a 'nature friendly eco off-the-grid' way. As one day I might build my own home somewhere off the grid. Particularly building with cob/clay is a skill I'd love to learn.

    All sorts of new gardening skills are also very welcome as new skills. As I expect to use them when I start to realise my 'off-the-grid self-sufficient' dream.

    I am interested in learning to play new instruments. Learning some basic skills on a string instrument is something I want to do for quite some time now.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I think I mentioned a lot already in my description.

    What else can I mention?

    I like to think I am a hard worker. I've been working since I was 15 years old. And I am always trying to figure out how to improve the way I do things. Sometimes stuff just needs to be done, even when you don't really feel like it.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback