Christian & Mariam

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Poland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there, me (Christian) and Mariam are very loving and positive people. We love getting involved, learning new skills and finding new experiences. We are both from the UK, but met in the jungles of Borneo volunteering on a Raleigh expedition, of which I was a Project Manager. We both loved the experience so much that we promised our friends in Malaysia that we will be back as soon as possible.

    Honouring our word, Mariam finished her degree, getting a First in English & Creative Writing at The University of Warwick, and I left my job in management & manufacturing and proceeded to sell my house, car and most of my possessions. I even had to re-home my cats Darth & Chewie, which was by far the hardest amongst all these tasks. I have been very lucky in finding such a nice owner to take care of my beloved felines; we have become friends in the process and as well as getting regular updates, pictures and videos, we also get to visit them whenever we like :D what more could I ask for?

    (Mariam): We are both big lovers of language and immersing ourselves in the music, food, art and history of new cultures. As an interfaith couple, we have truly been able to appreciate the new perspectives and experiences that occur when two different cultures meet and unite! I love writing about travel and lifestyle, and also greatly enjoy working with children. One of my favourite parts of my Raleigh expedition was playing with and getting to know the kids at the local village where I volunteered.

    Sadly our plan to travel around South East Asia this year has been put on hold due to the pandemic, however we are still keen and open to new adventures closer to home within Europe.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    English native speakers, both getting qualified to teach English as a foreign language
    Previous teaching experience in the UK with high school students (Mariam)
    Extensive knowledge in project management (Christian)
    Experience with construction, tooling and decorating of own house in UK (Christian)
    Very good computer skills (Microsoft Office, Microsoft Excel)
    Animal lovers
    Both previously worked in hospitality and retail, with good experience of working under pressure in fast-paced environment
    Long-term experience in running masterclass events at hospitality venue (Christian)
    Photography skills
    Completed university degree in business and finance (Christian)
    Completed university degree in English & Creative Writing (Mariam)
    Deputy editor for university paper with lots of experience in online marketing/blogging and social media (Mariam)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Persian (Farsi): Fluent

  • Age

    28 & 24

  • What else ...

    Other hobbies and interests include:
    Cooking and baking
    Yoga, meditation and mindfulness
    Board games
    Arts and crafts
    Sports
    Movies

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback