Noah

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (16)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I’m Noah. I’m a 22 year old American, currently traveling in Mexico. I’m planning to spend the next half year or so exploring this beautiful country. In this time, I hope to gain new skills and knowledge, expand the scope of my human experience, improve my Spanish and, most of all, meet more of the amazing people the world has to offer!

    Since having a spiritual revolution in my life, around the age of 18, I have taken up a nomadic lifestyle. The world is simply too large and incredible to stay in my tiny corner of it! Most of my time has been spent volunteering with/working for humanitarian based organizations, with some leisure travel here and there. I know that the purpose of my existence is to help and share love with others, so I have greatly enjoyed the new lifestyle I have taken up in the past few years. But still, my scope is so very small. I have seen so little of the world and even my home country, engaged in only a few areas of humanitarian work, learned only my native language fluently, have never truly lived off the land, and so on and so forth. My point here being that I wish so badly to broaden my horizons. I have so many interests and passions and not nearly enough experiences! Luckily, I am in the height of my youth, my motivation is without end, and my fear is all but eradicated. I have learned to thrive off of pushing myself outside of my comfort zone and forcing myself to adapt to new situations. With all this being said, I have been loving the wonderful experiences of which I’ve had the privilege to be apart thanks to workaway hosts. I hope to many more!

    I love working with children, those with disabilities, and the elderly. These groups deserve so much love and compassion. Not to mention, there is so much to learn from them! I also am quite fond and passionate about animals. I feel very comfortable around animals of all kinds and very much enjoy to engage with and care for them.

    Another realm of activity that I seriously enjoy is manual and skilled labor. I can really appreciate a day of hard work and I find great joy in learning new skills and techniques for building things (anything, that is). I am always happy to work with my hands, no matter how tedious or meticulous the task may be. I have participated in a few projects focused on home repair/renovation in areas affected by natural disasters and very much wish to do more work of this kind. With this being said, I’m always looking to expand my knowledge and skills in the field of carpentry/construction. In particular, I am extremely interested in gaining more knowledge and experience in the realm of natural and sustainable building.

    Another big goal of mine during my travels is to experience a lifestyle of self sufficiency and reconnect with the earth. I have become very fed up with how synthetic and artificial my modern lifestyle is. I have never grown my own food, so much of what I eat is packaged and processed, and I am ashamed. This has become the norm in modern day but I have managed to escape the confinement of many other norms and, now, this particular status quo is one I aim to defy. I am extremely interested in learning about renewable energy, any and all types of agriculture, and engaging in a more simple and grounded lifestyle. Workaway is seemingly the perfect resource to continue tackling the goal.

    I am so excited to meet you, to soak up any skills and knowledge you are willing to share, and to help you however possible. I will do everything in my power to be a respectful and gracious guest.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    -Construction/Renovation (experience in general carpentry, familiarity with large variety of power tools, drywall installation, painting, door/window trim, door and door jam installation, and a small amount of tiling and framing experience amongst other things)

    -Creating/contributing to an inclusive and loving environment (people are my passion and I always try my best to make those around me feel loved and valued)

    -Child Care (I have so much fun connecting and playing with youth. I believe there is so much to learn from children! I will always feel like a child at heart so I have a real passion for creating a fun, safe, and creative space for kids)

    -Animal Care (I have great compassion for all animals and feel extremely comfortable around them. I have significant experience with raising and taking care of cats and dogs. Plus, I am very interested in learning about other animals and their needs!)

    -Emergency Medical Services (I was formally a certified EMT. Truthfully, my knowledge and skills are a bit rusty as I have allowed my certification to lapse. BUT, I have retained a good amount of what I learned in my studies and feel comfortable caring for others in emergency medical situations)

    -Landscaping (planting, mowing, mulching, weed wacking, etc.)

    -Harvesting (only have experience with asparagus harvesting but I am physically capable of spending long days in the field and very eager to gain more agricultural experience)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would very much like to become able to communicate in Spanish.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    22

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback