Nicole

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/08/2019 - 01/08/2020


  • Description

    I am a recently-certified TESOL English teacher with a Bachelor's Degree looking for opportunities to hone my teaching skills. At this time I am looking for English teaching opportunities only. To date, I have more than 6 hours of teaching practice in an ESL classroom, coupled with numerous hours of teacher observation and peer feedback. I have also just started teaching English to young Chinese students online part-time. Outside of teaching English, I taught an undergraduate anthropology & social justice course for 1 year and was a tutor in the university writing center for 2 years.

    I decided to pursue my English teaching certificate after years of wanting to do so. I have always loved language in all forms (including writing and literature), and I love to teach and help others. I will be traveling primarily in Mexico - a country that I have heard so many good things about but have yet to experience firsthand. Aside from teaching, finding a place that will help me practice Spanish and gain more fluency is my secondary goal.

    Here is a little bit about myself and my past travels:

    In 2014, I studied abroad in Valparaiso, Chile, which was my first taste of living abroad. I studied Spanish there and lived with a host family. I spent my afternoons wandering around the colorful streets of Valparaiso, which has some of the best graffiti art I have ever seen.

    In 2016, I solo backpacked for six months through many countries in Central and South America. I started this trip by studying Spanish in Guatemala, after which I was able practice more and to navigate situations with my strengthened Spanish. I explored colonial cities, shopped and people watched at local markets, saw the jungle for the first time, slept on a volcano in Guatemala, hopped around tropical islands in Panama, danced the night away in salsa clubs, trekked for 4 days through the Ecuadorian Andes, swam with caiman and piranhas in the Amazon, and hiked to high altitude lagoons in Peru. Along my journey, I met people from all over the world who connected with me, showed me their kindness, and expanded my worldview.

    In the past few years since I returned from that backpacking trip, I worked as a barista at a cafe in Northampton, Massachusetts, while occasionally going on short trips in the United States to satiate my need for exploration. I've done lots of hiking, camping, and wilderness backpacking. I have gone on a couple of road trips and I've seen several different areas of the U.S. that I hadn't before.

    If you couldn't tell by now, I love adventuring, seeing new places, meeting people, challenging myself, trying different things, and in general I love to learn and am always looking to expand my worldview, to understand my place in the world, to grow as a person. I am the kind of traveler that likes to stay with Couchsurfing hosts, or do a work exchange (in the past I have worked at a couple of hostels), mixed in with some hostel stays and camping ventures. I am open and open-minded. I am comfortable going with the flow, and I also have the organizational skills to plan when I need to. I am adaptable, straightforward, bubbly, accountable, and reflective.

    I believe that moving out of your "comfort zone" is the best way to learn and grow. This is one of the best things about traveling and also about teaching. I am always learning new things and helping others to learn as well. I am very excited to be combining my love of travel and teaching and I am excited to be in a classroom again!!! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    TESOL certified English language teacher. Experience as a barista and server, some experience bartending. Additional skills and interests: writing/editing, amateur photography, cooking, counseling, non-profit work, gardening, trip planning.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent in English, Intermediate/conversational Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      gluten intolerant

Feedback