Myriam & Timothy

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Nepal, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/06/2019 - 16/06/2022

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, we are Tim and Myriam from Switzerland. Together we are on an open end journey around the world. Tim was a decorater and technician and Myriam did her bachelor in ethnology and religion studies and was always part time working in restaurants. We really like hiking or just walking around when we arrive at a new place, always open to learn new things and meet new people. Workaway is a beautiful way to get involved with diffrent people and challenges we want to experience. We want to share our knowledge and learn new skills and never stop being curious.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Tim was a decorater and technician in Switzerland for 16 years, his job included on one side a lot of diffrent decorations from small things like table decorations right up to the whole decoration for an event or concert (parties, (business-) events, flyers, wallpaintings, etc.). Therefore he worked with a big variety of materials like wood, steal, fabrics, spraypaint, acryl paint, ... Also fixing the toilet or installing the light show was part of his job. So he can be a good help for any kinds of general maintenance and or decoration in any form.
    He has a creative mind and also in his freetime he loves to draw! During our travel several people asked him to design a tattoo for them, what he did.
    He is also very interested in computers and technical stuff and gained a lot of knowledge in self study. If he does not know something he quickly teaches himself with research and is is open to help with computer stuff.
    As we were in Sri Lanka we helped a friend who lives there to build a raised bed for spices.

    Myriam is a quick learner and worked many diffrent jobs so far. She was a scout leader for 9 years and during this time beside spending a lot of time with childern she also organised diffrent events, from summercamps to meetings and also was responsible for the coordination of the programm for a childrens world for a 10 days city-festival with 1 Million visitors. She is used to be outside and loves nature. As a child she often helped her grandparents in the garden but unfortunately never had a garden of her own.
    Since she is 17 she always worked in restaurants and during the semester break in summer in mountain huts in Switzerland. She thinks this is a beatiful job, because you have a close connection to the costumers and insights into the daily life of people. Beside this she worked as a kindergarden assistant, in logistics for a night club and as a clerk. During the job in the office she could improve her computer knowledge she already acquired during her studies at the university.
    While studying cultural anthropology and religion studies she gained a lot of knowledge about the different and similar approaches in cultures and various ways in which people deal with life. She had to read and write a lot in english and german and for this is not shy in writing texts.
    During our travels she already had a work away expirience in an animal shelter in Khon Kaen for 2 weeks. There she worked mostly with socializing disabled dogs, taking them out for a walk, do hydrotherapy, wash them and clean the cages. This was an amazing experience because she is a huge animal lover.
    She was teaching german for refugees for half a year but had to realize that she could only provide the basics or just making conversation, not teaching proper grammar. Another hobby she pursued was making a massage course on traditional relaxing body massage and she likes to treat her friends with her newly learned skill.
    She likes to learn new things and work with her hands. She is good with children and animals but also likes to help with office tasks or wherever there is help needed. Always keeping a positive attitude.


    We are both fluent in german, english and french and could help practising this languages by conversation or teaching basics, but not deeper into grammar.
    Myriam has an international driver licence and we both know how to drive a Tuktuk and Scooter.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

  • Age

    26 & 37

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback