Julia & Mikhyle

From: United States & South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    South Africa

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello there! We are a fun-loving couple who love to travel and meet people from all over the world. We met a little over 3 years ago in Chiang Mai, Thailand where we were both teaching English at the time. Mikhyle is 28 years old, born and bred from Cape Town, South Africa. His hobbies include playing sport (soccer, surfing, swimming), hiking mountains and enjoying good conversation. He has a degree in Environmental Science with experience in organic urban agriculture as well as small scale farming. Julia is 27 years old Korean American, born and raised in New York. She enjoys deep and intellectual conversations. Julia has a degree in Sociology and has experience volunteering in Ecuador building houses, schools and clean-ups. We are both fascinated by studies of philosophy, sociology, psychology, anthropology, etc. We would like to think of ourselves as very curious, laid back and open-minded. We both enjoy holistic practices and enjoy doing yoga and meditation in our free time. We are nature lovers and want to protect this beautiful earth for as long as we can. We live a simple life. We thought joining Workaway would be the perfect platform for us to experience something new, while also helping others and enjoying good company!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    We have experience cooking and cleaning - basically anything you need around the house. We are also able to help out outside - gardening, plants, etc. We both come from family orientated households so we have lots of experience babysitting and caring for children ages 3-teens. We are proud animal lovers! Feeding them, cleaning up after them, and giving them all the love in the world is no problem. Cats, dogs, birds, rabbits, pigs, etc you name it. We are very willing and enjoy helping out - so if there is any skill we don't have, we would be very eager to learn on the spot.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Korean: Intermediate
    Thai: Beginner

  • Age

    28 & 28

  • Nationality

    USA and South Africa

  • What else ...

    We looove board/card games. Sequence, Monopoly, connect4, UNO, you name it!
    We love cooking and trying out different vegetarian recipes! We love to venture out and try new cuisines as well. Food is life!!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We prefer to eat vegetarian/vegan but we will eat what is provided/offered :)

Photos

Feedback