Melanie

  • Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (10)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    Hey:) Right now I'm close to Quesnel if somebody is here and would like to meet to go hiking or something else:)
    My further plan is to drive to the Yukon, if somebody would like to meet there.

  • Description

    I love to travel and discover the world. I want to get to know new countries and experience their culture. I would like to understand the world views of the local people and learn new things. That's why I want to do workaway. Because I think, where better to learn something about the country and its customs than on a farm or a ranch in the middle of the country. I have travelled many countries. But only once I was outside Europe, in Egypt. And now in Canada :)

    Furthermore I love to take pictures. I want to show others the beauty of our world. And what better way to do that than with a picture?
    My passion is to make music. I play trombone and flute. Furthermore I am active in the trombone choir in Graben-Neudorf. I enjoy playing together with other people.

    I am also active in the YMCA. Here I spend my time with young people. I love it. Later I would like to study social work and help people with mental and addiction problems. I like to meet new people every time, no matter if they are sick or have different ideas about the world.

    Now that I finally have my A-levels, I finally have time to read again. I love to get lost in books and write short stories myself.

    What I miss most right now is riding. I've been riding for about. . . 8-9 years, but I had to take a 2-year break because of my high school diploma. So I would be very happy if I could ride. Until now I have only learned to ride in English. To ride western is a total different style but it is so much fun!

    Now to my family: I have a younger sister. Isabelle is her name. We have a cat. His name is Krümel. And fish. We had rabbits and mice once. As you might notice, we love animals, but we simply have no room for bigger ones.

    Because my family and I have often spent holidays on farms and ranches, and I was on different farms and ranches (horses, sheep, cows) in Iceland, I bring some experience with farming and ranching. Since end of June I am on a cattle and goat ranch in Alberta. Here we move cattle on horses and I love it! I am a very open-minded person and like to help with all kind of work, whether feeding animals, mucking out stables or building fences.

    I am really looking forward to my farm stays and to my new host families, who hopefully can become a new part of my family.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    As a family we often spent our holidays on cow, goat and other farms and ranches. There I was allowed to get a taste of life on a farm and on a ranch and their work. Currently I'm in Canada and am working on a cattle ranch and it makes so much fun! I did learn a lot about sheep, cows, horses and goats and of cause other tasks of farming and ranching. I also have experience with horses, as I used to go on riding holidays. Furthermore I often help my father with repairing things and assembling furniture. I already helped my mother in the garden. I am an open person and like to help where help is needed. I have a international driving licence and I can drive every car, manual or automatic. I am allowed to drive cars up to 3,5tons and small tractors.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would like to learn better English and some Icelandic. I can help you with German:)

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    I spend a lot of time with my friends. Whether at leisure or in a club, at school or simply at home. We often go on excursions. Furthermore I play trombone in the trombone choir and also in school orchestra. I also play the flute. Once a week I go dancing and play badminton. I also looooove to read.

    Right now I'm taking a year or two off. Then I'm going to university.

    I want to go through the world with a smile on my face. I want to discover the world, with all it has to offer and I am always open for new encounters and experiences.

    I want to learn how the real country and farm life works and a lot about the different farms, ranches, animals and the land. I also want to improve my English.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Pollen, dust and mites. Cat only when there are not allowed out. I'm also allergic to guinea pigs.

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback