May

  • France
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling


    - museums
    - walking around, discovering new places
    - chill at bars
    - simple hiking tracks

  • Description

    Hi!

    ~ PRESENTATION ~
    I'm May, a French traveler. Nice to meet you :)
    I'm currently a web dev student in the South of France, learning how to make websites. I'm also a freelance illustrator.


    ~ SUMMER 2021 ~
    I'll be in Mexico City from the 26th July to the 10th August, and I'm actively looking for a nice and interesting place to do some volunteering! I have to spend 14 days there in order to enter the USA (where I'll join one of my friends!).


    ~ PAST WORKAWAYS ~
    Before COVID existed, I was on a Working Holiday Visa in New Zealand (2019) with my ex-partner and I had a blast there!

    I've also taken a break from NZ to travel to Japan and Canada and it was amazing.

    In NZ, I volonteered in Kawai Purapura, a Yoga Retreat, for a month. I was cleaning amenities and yoga rooms, helping in the café, keeping the grounds beautiful... Being part of this community felt right, like being home.

    Then I was at the Black Sheep, a vegan Animal Sanctuary, also for a month. I worked hard and got dirty, doing food prep, feeds, cleaning the animals' spaces, cooking communal dinners. It was still so powerful doing something meaningful and living with open-minded people and friendly animals.

    In Ottawa, Canada, I stayed with a family for two weeks. It was intense and lovely, I enjoyed it so much. It was like being members of the family and the work felt very natural. A very different kind of workaway, kind of au pair!

    In Japan I helped to renovate a ski lodge, I painted windows to make it pretty for the season.

    In fact, after all little by little realizing that every workaway is an all new experience :) It's a wonderful way to travel and to meet new people, I'm hoping I can continue traveling this way from now on!

  • Interests

    Nature
    Hiking
    Animals
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    - Cleaning: amenities, toilets, bathrooms, kitchen, cars, animal spaces... nothing scares me!

    - Animal care: preparing food and giving special treatments, I've done that :)

    - Basic outdoor tasks: digging holes and trenches, clipping trees, cutting blackberries, putting gravel, mowing lawn... I can use some tools if I'm showed properly.

    - Cooking and baking: I've been vegan for 6 years and I know some magic tricks to make mayonnaise, crepes, cakes and lasagnas ;)

    - Art: I do freelance illustration! I did badges and I've painted an artwork on a door during my stay in an animal sanctuary :) Another artwork on a furniture for a family.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I can help with French!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    My artstation: https://www.artstation.com/maiathoustra
    My web dev portfolio: https://huong-may-nguyen-phuoc.students-laplateforme.io/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I'm allergic to peanuts.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am vegan and always willing to share a meal with you :)

Friends

Photos

Feedback