Lorna555

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2022 - 15/10/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi there my name is Lorna I'm a mother of 4 grown children in their 20's .I'm a people person and love communicating and interacting with people of all ages. I've done a few different things in my life to make a living such as Cleaning,Cooking,Childcare (at home and in a licensed daycare setting) Live in Nanny ,Presently for the past year and a half caring for individuals with diverse abilities. I'm a natural care giver and that's where my strengths lie.
    I grew up in SW Scotland and moved to Manitoba when I was 13 ,my parents bought a dairy farm there.So I'm quite at home in rural settings and no stranger to hard work.
    I have cleaned rooms at Post hotel at Lake Louise for a months working holiday . I also worked at Hastings House on Salt Spring Island for a few months as a house keeper .
    I spent 16 years in a Northern Manitoba mining town which I loved and miss.
    I just wanted to let you know I'm respectful of every individual and the rules/guidelines they have for their home.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I have cooking,cleaning,painting /decorating,childcare ,pet care,people skills

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    49

  • What else ...

    I am a friendly open minded ,easy going person.I get along with most people and can adapt well to different circumstances. I owned and operated 2 cafes and have worked out in remote camps as a camp cook. I'm a decent cook know my way around a kitchen. I have taken some courses in ECE and worked in a licensed daycare. I was a live in nanny for 2 families and with a elderly gentleman who had dementia. I’m presently working as a live in support worker for an individual who has Spina Bifida . I would love the opportunity to be able to work,travel and meet some wonderful people.
    I had the chance to do a 1 month Workaway at Tranaun B&B on Inishturk Island of the West coast of Ireland in May 2019. Phylomena and Bernard Heaney were my host and were fabulous!! They didnt renew their membership on here so i wasnt able to add it to my feedback.
    If you would like to know anything at all about myself please don't hesitate to get in touch.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback