Lisa

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/05/2019 - 25/09/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    "A comfort zone is a beautiful place - but nothing ever grows there."
    For most of the time, my comfort zone is the beautiful South of Germany where I live in a nice little apartment on my own. I am used to taking care of myself with regard to cleaning and cooking. I like my apartment the most when it's tidy and clean :)
    When I moved out of my parents' house with 19 to study at the University in Tuebingen (a charming German town), it was an important first step in becoming independent. Seven years later - seven years of study, of fun, new friendships, exams, and tough challenges - I have a state examination and I am one step closer to become a Gymnasium teacher (an academic high school in German countries). Being around various people, spending time together, sharing thoughts, listening to and also learning from each other, is something that I really love spending my time with.
    I'd claim, no - I know! - that I am a straightforward, friendly and patient person you enjoy being around. I know that life isn't always a bowl of cherries but that makes me appreciate the good times even more.
    My comfort zone also contains a wonderful family, a loving boyfriend, and loyal friends who support and walk through life with me.
    Sounds amazing!?... Then why would I ever want to leave this comfortable nest and travel to BC for several months? - Because I am adventurous and I fell in love with Canada and its nature several years ago.
    As much as I love my life in Germany, I've always enjoyed traveling, discovering new places and cultures, meeting different people and taking a risk in life that seems worth taking.
    I already volunteered in the UK for a couple of weeks. Back then, I didn't know about workaway, but it was basically the same idea behind it. I helped a family in their house and garden in London and spent quite a while on a vineyard near Hastings. Even though it was very cold, windy, rainy and 7 hours of hard work 5 days a week, I really did enjoy the time back then.
    However, I guess the most decisive reason why I am willing to step outside my comfort zone is your country, your culture and the people itself. In 2009, I had the chance to live with a family in Niagara-on-the-lake, Ontario for 3 months. It was not only a memorable stay and an important lesson in becoming more self-confident, but it also made me realize that I love this country and the people in it. Since then, I wanted to come back for more than a vacation and a touristy impression. Of course, I always enjoy being on vacation and being a tourist for 2 weeks. But that's not what I am hoping to experience with workaway
    - I would like to be a traveler, not a tourist. I would love to be part of your family, your country, your life!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am becoming a teacher, not a gardener, builder, caretaker, farmer, cook, nurse or professional baby sitter. To be honest, I don't know (yet!) what helpful skills I do have. But I know that I am an independent, reliable, trustworthy and patient 27-year-old woman who is able and willing to learn! I am open-minded and I enjoy being challenged with unknown tasks. As long as you don't expect me to be perfect from the start, I promise you, I will always try my best, be friendly and work hard.
    --> I enjoy helping you with your household since I am used to living alone.
    --> I enjoy being outside, don't mind getting dirty/wet and I am definitely not afraid of animals. As a matter of fact, I enjoy being around and taking care of them.
    --> I enjoy being with people/kids/tourists and you can assume that I am friendly, patient and appropriate with them.
    My English is good, but I am no native speaker. I probably won't have any problems understanding you and following your instructions. However, my spoken English is a little bit rusty, not fluent :-( I hope I can fix it during my stay at least a little bit.
    I am really looking forward to meeting you and helping you with your work.

  • Languages spoken

    German and English

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Road Trip 2015
Yellowstone National Park <3
Wwoofing in England
Working on a vineyard in February
Hiking in Swiss/Italy
I love my girls.
I love spending time with my friends.
I loved my time at University
I love being in Canada's nature (Camping in Tobermory, Canada)
I love being in love
I love being part of this family

Feedback