Bill & Leah

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Ireland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/06/2020 - 16/08/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    What's the Craic?
    We're a young doughey-eyed couple from Dublin, just finished school and eager as ever to have some real life experience. Here's a little bit from each of us:
    Hi! I'm Bill. I'm 18 and I live in Blackrock, Dublin. I've grown up always mad about the outdoors; Going fishing, surfing, snorkelling and swimming; and my passions haven't changed. In my spare time, I often go hiking, swimming, and kitesurfing (I'm the Irish Champion at the minute) I also enjoy foraging and want to learn more about finding and growing (and making) food! After this summer I hope to go into a career in science or engineering where I can work on environmental issues.
    Hi, I'm Leah! I grew up in Skerries, a stones throw from the sea, so a lot of what I love and enjoy is sea centered. Taking part in any sport I could, doing crafty bits and bobs and immersing myself in fiddle lessons were big factors of my childhood. I spend most my time with family and friends and am very much a people person! I grew up bilingual (German and English) and love to travel. I've got a bit of a competitive streak so don't be afraid to throw any challenge my way!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV
    Music

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    We are both fresh out of school, adaptable, and eager to get some new experience under our belts. Here's a little run-down from each of us:
    It's me, Bill. So far, I've worked in cafés, food stalls, teaching kitesurfing, painting and decorating, building festivals like "Knockanstockan" in Blessington, and hauling lobster pots in Dublin Bay. I also do some gardening with my mum, which has made me keen to learn more about growing food and off-grid living. I haven't yet worked on a farm but I've always lived around animals and I'm more than happy to muck in once I've been shown what to do. I'm sure I'll have lots to learn!
    I've (Leah) always been pretty busy on the work front, from waitressing, to teaching kids fiddle, to au pairing in Paris. I helped my Grandad with his veggies and glass house since I could stand but there's still plenty I have to learn! My mum taught me to bake when I was small and now I bake at any occasion I can. I'm bilingual and love all things outdoorsy. Very excited to lend a helping hand and make some fantastic memories, if you'll have us :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Irish: Intermediate
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    19 & 19

  • What else ...

    We both play instruments: Leah has played fiddle since the age of seven and I have played guitar for quite a while, though I keep getting distracted by mandolin, banjo, and bodhrán.
    We will make you cake (or curry!) and that is a promise!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Leah is pescatarian (eats fish, not meat) but not fussy. We can sort ourselves out if needs be.

Photos

Feedback