Lauren

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Recently stepped away from sustainability roles in Corporate America. Looking for a more direct & connected means of helping people and planet.

    I recently left a job at Levi's (Levi Strauss & Co.) where I shaped and led the iconic denim brand's sustainability programs and consumer-facing marketing materials for the last four years. I thought big company, big opportunity for impact - but, the work left me craving something different. I'm looking for connection, direct impact, using my hands, stepping away from capitalism and technology, reconnecting with the land, finding like-minded people & a strong community to share it all with.

    I have a deep desire to help educate and unite folks around the current crisis we're facing, and finding alternative ways of living that are more sustainable.

    I've long struggled with the modern American mindset of consuming to feel, fast & cheap, 'me' before 'we,' and success measured by production. I'd like to help reset / reshape the system. I hoping to absorb as much as I can from other cultures and ways of living to regain some optimism and shape where I want to focus my energy next to have an impact.

    Other things that bring me a lot of joy: reading, running, hiking, yoga, cooking & baking (paleo, healthy & clean), being outside in the sun as much as possible, relearning creative expression, being playful, meditation & reflection, and non violent, intelligent conversations with other folks!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Eco Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    From my work experience, I'm well educated around the climate crises, sustainable business practices, actions we can take for a more sustainable future, and (a bit about) farming. However, I'm looking for the experience to match the knowledge.

    I bring an attitude of showing up fully and working hard. I aim to bring a positive attitude, lightness and joy to the spaces I share. Hopefully rewarding connection & good conversation with the community. I’m very tidy and make me an easy roommate / housekeeper. I’m a believer in leaving things better than I found it and being conscientious of those I share space with.

    I nannied and babysat children of all ages from the time I was 12-24. I have lots of experience (and enjoy) time with kiddos.

    I'm very active, athletic, and (gratefully) able bodied. Although I'm petite - heavy lifting may be a less well suited for my body type.

    I have volunteered quite a bit - doing garden work, painting, picking weeds, etc. but have largely lived in cities and worked desk jobs. So, there will be a learning curve, but that's what I'm seeking. Tell me once, I’ll listen, and catch on pretty quick. I’m a self-starter, motivated, and easy going.

    I'm hungry to learn and am a hard worker. I may need some coaching for farm jobs, but I'm abled bodied and will show up 100%. No complaining, no excuses, just focus, smiles and excitement.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    I'm an introvert & extrovert - I need quiet space and time to center myself each day. I have spent much of my life being self reliant, so am very comfortable being by myself.

    I like being physical, and use my body to work, but then relax and have a drink or yummy meal with other people afterwards!

    I babysat kids from 6th grade through college. I love spending time with kids playing and having fun!

    I enjoy cooking with, and for, others - using fruits, veggies, nuts, legumes, and other whole, unprocessed foods.

    After recently stepping away from a grueling corporate job, and a year of working remotely in isolation behind a screen, I'm looking to be outside and connecting, as well as resting and reconnecting with self.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback