Geert

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Armenia, Georgia, Iran

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2017 - 01/06/2017

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I like to be surprised in what I see, feel or eat, in people and their culture, in exploring things and places. Wandering around, losing my way while discovering a city, people-watching on a sunny terrace, taking snapshots in the streets, driving old cars, drinking wine ( or beer, can't deny my Belgian roots), enjoying fish, white cheese & rakı (golden combo!), looking for remarkable architecture ( both old ruins and new concrete buildings)... traveling of the beaten track and wild camping.
    I used to work as an archaeologist in the past but left my job when I discovered I did not fit in the academic world... so I decided to do something completely different and became a bartender - I had a "great small" jazz bar. Last couple of years I was cycling the hills of Istanbul and guided people through the city. I suppose I got the taste for it and started an "around the world" cycling tour in August 2015.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I'm especially interested in construction, design and renovation but I'm happy to help with all kind of work!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Age

    45

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    Working together on a project is the best way to get to know people and their culture, that's the main reason why I joined workaway.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback