Klazina

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/07/2019 - 10/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    378

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    When I step outside, the first thing I notice is the freshness of the air I breath in. It always smells so good! It doesn’t matter if there is sun, wind, rain, clouds or everything at once, it fills my heart with joy :) I like the phrase 'There is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothes'.

    I recently graduated with a bachelor degree in Nutrition & Health from the university of Wageningen (small city in the middle of the Netherlands). Although I did enjoy to study nutrition, I feel like that my path lies more into creating a sustainable future. What that will be, I don't know yet, maybe something with sustainable/organic farming? Exploring where my interests lie, is one of the reasons that I am interested in Workaway. An even more important reason to participate in Workaway is the possibility to experience different lifestyles. I could learn a lot by helping the host in their daily life. The third reason for me to participate in Workaway, is because I like to be outdoors and to live more in tune with nature.

    In my free time, I like to:
    Relax, read a book (I have a ereader now, it is really great, although nothing beats a real book of course :) go for a walk, make a bike ride, listen to music, watch a movie or serie, scrapbook (making collages with picture), cuddle with our cats and take care of the rabbits.
    Sometimes, I like to play sports like cycling, walking, slacklining, sailing in the summer and I started thaiboxing recently. I also like to hang out with friends and go swimming, cook together, drink tea (especially ginger), go to the cinema, sit around a campfire and play boardgames.
    And sometimes I like to just sit, drink tea and do nothing ;)

    Previous volunteer/work experiences (not via workaway)
    2012 - Summer camp volunteer. Each year, I participate in a week full of fun activities for children aged 7-12.
    Together with a colleague, we look after 10 children during the week.
    2013 - Camping/animation employee in France for 3 weeks (activities for children age 4-15 and catering)
    2014 - Animation employee on camping in south of the Netherlands for 4 weeks
    2014/2015 - Position in international student board in Wageningen (secretary and president)
    2015 - Study exchange to Finland for 4 months
    2015 - I couchsurfed together with a friend in Finland and Russia for 2 weeks
    2016 - Volunteer at community garden. Once a week, I helped the gardener with all kind of activities to ensure that the crops grew sufficiently (4 months).
    2017 - Permaculture course in university for 8 weeks. Was great!
    2018 - Cycled in June from south to north Netherlands to visit friends and family
    2019 - Working a job with elderly for 3 months. Helping them with their household tasks. All amazing people with beautiful stories.
    2019 - Currently helping out a local vegetable farmer with her self-harvest farm. I am learning great things about many different vegetables and the soil: http://www.devrijeakker.nl/

    Last but not least:
    I have a big heart for animals and that is why I choose not to eat them anymore. However, I am not a very picky vegetarian. If there is a meat ball floating around in my soup, I have no problem with fishing it out and donate is to another person ;) Being vegan is also no problem.

    Lovely greetings,
    Klazina

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening (I had a bit of experience, but I am eager to learn more), animal care, children, general help like cooking, cleaning and I am handy with a paint brush.

    Other skills that I can share with the host are techniques for swimming (I played waterpolo for 10 years), sailing, windsurfing and canoeing. When it comes to creative skills, I am a good scrapbooker, I can crochet and I can design posters. I also know my way around a bike, probably because I'm Dutch, haha!

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, Frisian (second language of the Netherlands), learning German

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I can speak and write Dutch, English and Frisian fluently.
    My German is all right, but could be improved!

    I am always in for trying a new language, maybe Italian, Swedish, Danish... I don't know yet ;) I also like to dance. I tried a bit of salsa rueda, ballroom, hiphop, ballet and I love them all. Styles I would also like to try are west coast swing dance and traditional folk dances. If the opportunity arises, I would like to learn to play a musical instrument, maybe violin, guitar, flute, drums. The reason for this is, is that I like country style music amongst others. Learning how to knit socks, is also definitely on my list.

    My motto: I to try to see a person (including myself) as he/she truly is: a beautiful human being who is here to learn on earth :) I try to live by this and I think this will be a lifelong journey.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian & I don't drink alcohol.

Photos

Planting the first trees of a foodforest in the neighborhood
Pulling weeds between the broad beans and posing for the picture ;)
Presenting our permaculture project
Slacklining

Feedback