Michael

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ecuador, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Spain, Thailand, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/05/2019 - 04/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello workaway hosts,

    I am a 34 year old very healthy and active male. I am a very hard worker, have a strong work ethic, trustworthy, and open to learning new things. "At one point, your favorite thing was something you have never tried before."

    I have been to Peru, Jamaica, Australia, Japan, and while living in Austria, I traveled all over Europe experiencing the people and culture of the countries I visited. When it comes to the United States I have been as north as Alaska and as far as Hawaii besides having traveled through so much of the USA.

    While in middle school and high school I participated in sports such as soccer, baseball, wrestling, cross country, track, and golf. I was also involved with the ski club as well as four musicals. After graduation from high school, I was accepted as a Rotary Exchange student and had the privilege of being hosted for my first 3 months in Vienna, Austria where I was astounded by the beauty of the city and its architecture. My time in Austria finished with 9 months in Tyrol where the people were kind and welcoming and the scenery just awe-inspiring. Upon returning home, I moved to Park City, Utah and joined the staff of Park City Ski Resort where I taught snowboarding for 3 years, a passion of mine I learned as I grew up in Western New York. From Utah, I moved to Breckenridge, Colorado and also taught snowboarding for an additional 5 years. This was followed up by a move to New York City where I did some advertising work in front of and behind the camera which has led me to my newest passion: videography and vlogging. While I was a resident of the Big Apple, I also worked in the sales department for a green energy company. I enjoyed success in sales and was always one of the top sellers with whatever company I worked for.

    I've been eating a plant based diet for 13 years now, however if I go fishing or I know exactly where the meat comes from I do eat it on occasion.

    Three years ago, I became a licensed massage therapist. One of the benefits of such a job is meeting all types of people and providing relief and relaxation for them. Another benefit of my profession is that I can take my skills anywhere. I actually learned about Workaway from one of my clients. My mission in joining workaway is to help people around the world in a humanitarian way.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Painting and some carpentry skills
    Any type of yard work or landscaping
    Licensed Massage Therapist of New York State

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    34

  • What else ...

    Growing up my father was a member of Rotary and was the Chairman of the Rotary Youth Exchange program in his club. While growing up from 2-18 years old and even after I moved out my family was always hosting exchange students in our house. My family hosted a total of 25 students so I was able to learn first hand about many different cultures. My older sister lived in Argentina for one year, I lived in Austria for one year, and my little sister lived in Spain for one year.

    To learn more about me, I have an established YouTube channel that shares some of my travels I have vlogged at - Google: KeepOnTreken for Youtube, and/or Michael Ken: for Instagram, Facebook and Snapchat.

    During summer months, I love to go hiking, play golf, and exploring all that nature has to offer. I also enjoy doing things with my hands: building, landscaping, and yard work, and am not afraid of learning new skills or getting my hands dirty.

    I took Spanish for 5 years in high school and one of the goals during my travels is to become more fluent in Spanish.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Plant Based Diet

Photos

Feedback