Kathleen

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/04/2019 - 06/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! I’m Kathleen and I love travelling and adventures. I've done some unique adventures and I think that the best way to show you who I am is to describe some of the things that I did 2018:

    • Quit my regular job as a 9 AM-5 PM scientist in the United States.
    • Biked 1500 miles from Seattle, WA to San Diego, CA as a part of a social awareness nonprofit that I helped co-found to support my friend who is a cancer survivor/amputee.
    • Moved to Ghana for 6 months to help create the country’s first genetic research laboratory.

    These experiences were incredible. I learned how to tackle unique and challenging tasks and accomplished a lot: from fundraising, marketing, and filming a documentary while biking down the west coast of the United States to moving to a new country where I had to accomplish a task that my training never prepared me for!

    Following my passion in helping others brings joy to my life and makes me fulfilled. My mission in life is to connect with and help others and that is something that I strive to do at every opportunity in my life. After working in Ghana I realized that there is so much to see in this world and I want to explore as much as I can. I love meeting new people, going on adventures, and trying new food. I'm very passionate about the travel/tourism industry and I have experience fundraising and marketing NGOs / nonprofits. My plan is to travel SE Asia from March-May (I may stay longer) and help YOU accomplish YOUR GOALS at your workaway 😊

    If you have any questions please get in touch and I’d be happy to set up a phone call or video chat.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm a very fast learner and have worked in fundraising, marketing, tourism. Here are some highlights on my skills:

    • Marketing/PR: I worked on social media (facebook, instagram, GoFundMe, email newsletter, website) campaign for the nonprofit 1500 mile trip
    • Fundraising: I also fundraised money and supplies to support the nonprofit 1500 mile trip
    • Tour Guide: I gave tours for 2 years at a Natural History Museum talking about dinosaurs
    • English: I’m a native English speaker and I love helping people practice
    • Cooking/health: I’m a pretty good cook and I love making tasty / healthy dishes
    • General Housework: I’m very clean and tidy
    • Sports: I am a marathon-runner, triathlete, and volleyball player

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent English and Spanish, some Spanish

  • Age

    28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Happy National Kidney Day! (Accra, Ghana)
Walking on the tree tops (Kakum National Forrest, Cape Coast, Ghana)
At Mile 700!! (Sacramento, CA, USA)
The very top of a water fall (Togo/Ghana)
At the market (Accra, Ghana)
Walking my bike over a foggy bridge (CA, USA)

Feedback