Kat & Jonathan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/09/2020 - 31/03/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a couple in our mid 30s from the lovely city of Bristol in the South West of England.

    In the past 10 years since we've been together we have shared our common love of exploring and been lucky enough to have adventures in some incredible places far from home - we lived in Canada for over a year enjoying the mountains and snow and travelled around South America and Jamaica (where we did our first workaway at a yoga retreat).

    We are exploring closer to home, starting with Portugal for the next few months! We are contemplating moving out of the UK and have seen that Portugal has made a happy home for many, who want a more connected and outdoorsy lifestyle.

    We are hoping to volunteer our time and skills in exchange for an insight in to life in Portugal. We've seen that a lot of people have moved to Portugal and created pretty cool lives for themselves setting up sustainable projects and delving in to the world of permaculture and off-grid communities. It's something we don't have a lot of experience in, having lived in the city, but would love to learn more about!

    Kat's taken a break from her career in the charity sector and has experience in fundraising, events management, charity development and online marketing, having worked in a small grassroots mental health charity for the past few years. Jono comes from a background in construction and has been working hard on bringing a derelict Georgian House back to life, and has plenty of knowledge about building, carpentry, plumbing and gardening!

    We can speak basic Spanish and a little French, but sadly no Portuguese, but would be very interested in learning!

    We enjoy yoga, listening/dancing to music, swimming, hiking, we are big foodies and love to cook and generally being outdoors in nature.

    We are interested in learning new skills and open to helping out in all sorts of ways to get a feel for life in beautiful Portugal. We are hard workers and we are not afraid of getting our hands dirty or working outside on the land.

    We are easy going and open to all different types of work in exchange for insight and inspiration so please do get in touch and let us know if you have an opportunity for us to get involved.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Events management and organisation
    Fundraising and Charity Development
    Marketing/ Social Media
    Financial management
    Construction knowledge
    People and Business Management
    Strong Communication skills
    We are both hands on and practically minded
    Gardening/ Carpentry

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We would love to learn some Portuguese, and would be happy to teach some English

  • Age

    35 & 37

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We are social and easy going, fast learners and up for a challenge!
    We want to learn new skills and are not afraid to work outside our comfort zone.
    We are active and love being outdoors.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Kat is pescetarian. Jono eats everything :)

Photos

Feedback