Karisa

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Macedonia, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/04/2019 - 01/05/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am a sunny, friendly Aussie journalist and English teacher looking to explore the world, far and wide, meeting and helping locals along the way. I am an enthusiastic person, fast learner, and a hardworker. I am quick thinking, good with my hands and able to do almost any job to a high standard. I love food, photography and making new friends.
    I plan to spend the next year, or two, or even three, exploring Europe and making lasting memories and connections.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Professionally, I am a qualified journalist, editor and English teacher with a Masters degree in Communications. I worked as a journalist for almost 10 years in Australia. I then lived in Japan for four years teaching English at a junior high school. Returning to Australia, I worked in tourism, running the office at a busy tourist park. I'm great with all aspects of office work, along with exceptional English language skills, writing skills and great computer skills.
    Outside of my many professional skills, I am a skilled photographer, photo-editor and designer. I love to organise, garden and clean and can do all to a high standard. I am passionate about food and love trying new dishes and learning new recipes. I am a good cook and I am excited to learn more while visiting different places around Europe.
    I have also helped my family with extensive home renovation projects over the years and can paint, drill, saw, sand, hammer... you name it, I can do it, or learn how to.
    I love animals, having owned dogs, cats and chickens in recent years and having lived on a dairy farm earlier in my life. I am comfortable working with animals and generally get on well with all animals, and people, I meet.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent in English, conversational Japanese.

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    When I travel, I like to experience what it would be like to live in the area I am visiting. As such, I prefer longer stays to shorter ones. I am flexible and happy to help out in any and every way I can to those lovely people who open up their homes and their lives to me. I am a happy, friendly and engaging person and hope that I can share my interests and knowledge with my hosts. Plus, I promise to take some beautiful photos of you and your area while I visit. See more of my photography work at www.karisawhelan.com.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No - I eat everything!

Profile is connected to:

bec_ashley


Photos

Feedback