Julia

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/05/2020 - 19/08/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Dear hosts,
    Hi! I'm Julia, a student of New York University. Currently I'm studying sociology and romance languages.

    Currently I'm studying at the Paris campus of NYU. I came to France because I'm interested in French culture - especially its arts, literature, and cinema. I wish that through my exchange I could gain a deeper understanding of France and make friends with people.

    I may be quiet when we first meet, but I am in fact very easygoing and always willing to help. Being a college student, I've been living on my own and cooking / doing general chores for myself for some time now. I'd love to use these skills to help others. Other than that, I am familiar with technology and the internet. I have been with an animal organization for three years, so I am also patient and always careful with animal friends.

    I love to do creative and artistic things as pastime. I can play the violin; having spent a few years in an atelier as a kid, I could help with artistic projects. Sometimes I write a little, too.

    I come from China - I could speak Mandarin Chinese; I also do Chinese calligraphy. Studying in an American university, I speak, write and communicate in fluent English. Spending a school year in Paris, I am picking up on French and I'd really love to learn the French language, French gastrotomie, or anything related to France!

    Feel free to contact me! I can' wait to meet you! :)

    Julia

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    - chores, cooking
    - care for animals
    - care for children
    - language learning (Mandarin is my first language ; I speak fluent English - my TOEFL note is 115/120, and my SAT literature note is 760/800)
    - help with artistic projects (I am most familiar with oil pastel and opaque watercolor. But I am fast to learn any other forms of art ;) )

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    I am also good with children. I have volunteered for several month with an institution for children with special needs (e.g. autism or Down syndrome), and I taught the children some simple English.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback