Julia & Emily

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/04/2021 - 10/08/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling


    We are interested in sustainability, environmental health, outside activities and creative ideas:)

  • Description

    Hey everybody:)
    We´re Emily and Julia from Germany and would love to get a closer look at the Swedish culture and people as well as gain more (working) experience in a foreign country before beginning our studies back in Germany.
    We are both interested in sustainability and like practical work, especially in nature.
    Self-development is a huge topic in both of our lives and travelling, meeting new people and having different surroundings helps a lot with that!
    After finishing our volunteering year at ecological institutions, we´re really looking forward to some new adventures and challenges.
    If you´re looking for somebody who is (almost) always wearing a big smile, enjoys spontaneous music sessions and is ready to build something new by thinking of creative ideas and four helping hands, we are the right ones:)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Team sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Emily:
    I worked in a forest-specialized country hostel for one year where I accompanied students and taught them different exercises like sawing or planting trees while explaining the sense of our work.
    Sometimes I prepared or invented rallies and workshops for the kids what helped me handling and understanding them. During this voluntary year I also got some knowledge in ascertaining plants and animals but most of all I learned a lot about natural processes and sustainably living.
    Later, I started helping at a landscape gardening company for six months to get more view into gardening workings and moreover I gained experience in structuring and planing them.
    In my freetime, I love making music, being outside or doing creative things as well as getting to know new people and learn from them.
    I'm always receptive for new experience and tasks.

    Julia:
    After graduation I worked at an environmental teaching instititution where I took care of two sheep, sometimes of the bees and mostly of gardening duties outside and some chores.
    Of course there were many children, which is why I also came along excursions to local farms. Sometimes I went into the woods with the children to explain a few things and made some apple juice as well as honey with them.
    Next to working at the teaching institution during my voluntary year, I also gained some experience as a waitress for about five months in a restaurant near my hometown.
    Moreover, I´ve been taking care of a two year old girl once a week since November 2020 and gave piano lessons to a seven year old girl in 2019. I absolutely love children of all ages and do not mind taking care of them as well as some chores (if it´s not prevalent).
    In my freetime I enjoy hiking, making music, talking about serious topics in life as well as just laughing about everything. I am really excited about staying in a different country and meeting new people.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    We would like to learn some Swedish and are already trying to pick up some words by learning online. If you want to learn some German, we would be happy to teach you as well:)

  • Age

    20 & 19

  • What else ...

    Emily plays the guitar and the ukulele and likes to draw, to do calligraphy and doing sports of many kinds.
    Julia is learning to play the Ukulele and plays Basketball. We both play the piano and sing, so we're absolutely up for some jamming sessions:)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are vegetarians, if possible we would eat vegan, but that´s not necessary.

Feedback