JonasMaximeJMK

From: Germany & Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Namibia, South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 04/08/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello, we're Maxime and Jonas!
    This is our story: We met in 2013 - Jonas was a kitesurf instructor in Sardinia, Italy, and Maxime took kitesurfing lessons with him. It was the beginning of one big love story. :-) Maxime travelled to Sardinia every month, until, after 6 months, Jonas came to her hometown Munich in Germany to visit and to see how it would go.
    Fact is, Jonas never went back (except to visit, of course), so since then, we have been living in Munich together. We got married in May 2018 and decided to leave Munich in November 2018 to go on an adventurous honeymoon around the world.
    Our goals: Explore the world, get to know other countries and cultures, live and work there, maybe even find a place that we might want to call our future home - who knows...
    Jonas grew up in a windsurf-/kitesurf/diving-school, so he's missing the sea in Munich. He loves boats and everything that has to do with the sea, but he's also a good craftsman. When something needs to be built or fixed, he'll find a way to do it. In Munich, Jonas has been working as a retail sales man. He speaks only basic English at the moment, but the past has shown that he's the kind of guy who picks up a language while using it, not from books - that's how he's learned German, too. Improving his English is one of the reasons why we want to start our journey in NZ.
    Maxime has always loved to travel and been interested in other cultures. She has a B.A. in business management and an M.A. in the study of religion and culture. She's always worked in the service sector, so she's good with people, but also with management, accountancy and all kinds of backoffice work. Maxime loves languages, is willing to pick up on any language that'll come her way. She went to NZ in 2010, completely fell in love with the country and its people and has always been wanting to go back. She also loves animals, especially dogs and horses, and has always wanted to find out what living on a farm is like.
    To sum things up: We want to see the world, and we want to make it a mix of travelling and working. We want to dive into other cultures and live like a local as much as possible. We want to learn about other people and about ourselves.
    We're rather easy eaters (although Maxime is not the biggest fan of fish and seafood), fine with physical work like building or gardening, as well as with working with tourists or other kinds of service work. We love kids and are happy to live and help with animals. When staying with you, we'll just do our very best to help you with anything that'll come your (our) way.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Jonas:
    - kitesurf-/windsurf-instructor
    - PADI rescue diver
    - boat license (up to 24m)
    - trained retail sales man (apprenticeship in Germany)
    - repairs anything on our car by himself (1991 Volkswagen Passat)
    - construction work (has helped convert a barn into a house on his parents's farm)
    - used to living in a surf school (with either customers, sails, boats or motors needing attention each and every day)

    Maxime:
    - work experience at a hostel reception (4 yrs), assistant to the CEO in a real estate company (3 yrs), tutoring kids (1 yr), customer service, accounting and event management (1.5 yrs)
    - B.A. in media management
    - M.A. in the study of religion and culture
    - great interest in personality development (coach and trainer's licence)
    - dog training
    - interest in horsemanship (not the most experienced rider, but I can stay on a horse and communicate with it peacefully ;-))

  • Languages spoken

    Maxime: mother tongue German, fluent in English & Italian. Bits of Spanish & Portuguese, of French, Dutch, and some others. Jonas: mother tongue Italian, fluent in German. Basic English, but wanting to improve.

  • Age

    31 & 29

  • Nationality

    German/Italian

  • What else ...

    You certainly know how hard it is to describe oneself to an unknown vis-à-vis, so please let us know, if there is anything that you'd like to know more about.
    We're travelling through NZ on a work and travel visa. Non-smokers, easy to feed, we have our own car.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

snorkeling and diving fun in Sardinia 2017
snorkeling and diving fun in Sardinia 2017
Our wedding day: 25/05/2018

Feedback