Joanne

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Panama, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 30/11/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    673

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    *COVID-19* If anyone is in need of support or help at this difficult time please do not hesitate to get in touch, I am based in Colombia and I'm currently stuck in quarantine at the moment but I'm happy to help from afar if possible, and once we are able to move around again I can offer physical support to those in need. Take care, and stay safe. Jo

    Hello! :) thanks for taking the time to read my profile.

    My name is Joanne, I'm 29, I'm from Liverpool, England but currently live in Bogota, Colombia with my husband.
    I always find it difficult to sum myself up in words as I find there is so much more to uncover once getting to know someone personally, however a few bits about me... I love adventure, I am very much into self discovery and self development, I'm excited by new things, including people and places, for this reason I love to travel. I'm extremely sociable on occasions, and at other times I love quiet time alone with a good book. I'm a very open person and love deep conversations, I love hearing peoples stories and being part of their experiences, even if it's just for a short time.

    I like to spend my free time exploring, doing yoga, meditating, reading, taking walks in nature, and socialising. I am currently learning Spanish, I can fumble my way through a very basic conversation and I'm excited to learn much more. I love to dance so I am taking the opportunity whilst here in Colombia to learn to salsa.

    I am passionate about helping others and for this reason I'm changing career paths to go into health and wellness, this will provide the opportunity for me to help individuals and communities through nutrition and overall wellness. This is something I am deeply excited about.

    Although we live here in South America, I feel I can immerse myself more deeply into the culture through Workaway by staying with families and businesses and this is what I am hoping to do throughout this year. I spent two months travelling in Italy in 2018 and volunteering through Workaway and I absolutely loved the experience of helping families and business owners, I'm hoping I can have the same opportunity here in South America and the surrounding areas.

    If there is anything else you'd like to know, get in touch and I'll be happy to chat! :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My previous career was in marketing and so I'm happy to utilise these skills if you require any help with business development and online & face-to-face marketing.

    I'm currently in the process of achieving a holistic health coach certification and whilst I currently have a lot more to learn I am happy to use anything I know to benefit my host or the community in anyway I can.

    During my marketing career I worked in hospitality and have bags of experience in this area should any help be needed in the space, i.e for accommodation, or generally dealing with customers of any kind.

    I'm an auntie to 14 nieces and nephews which has given me a lot of experience with children, I also looked after a beautiful 6 month old baby during my time in Italy. I have the patience and understanding to deal with children, their frustrations and emotions, and the energy and positive attitude to give them the time and attention they need to play, explore and learn.

    I love cooking and whilst I'm not a fancy chef I'm pretty good, I wouldn't say i particularly love cleaning but I do find enjoyment in it and I'm a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to cleaning. I love organising things, whether it be physical i.e. rooms, etc. or computer based, i.e. spreadsheets, etc.

    I spent most of my time in Italy working in agriculture, I worked on one farm with a lot of animals and another farm which was actually a developing yoga retreat but most of what I did was out in the garden with plants, etc. I found real enjoyment being surrounded in nature, nurturing plants and helping with the animals.

    I'm compassionate, hard working, easy going and love getting stuck into a task or project. I'm open to whatever opportunities present themselves on this platform and I will throw myself into whatever help is needed. If you're looking for any of the above skills or simply someone who is trustworthy with the desire to help others then please do get in touch.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am living in Colombia for 2 years and so I am flexible on dates

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback