Jenny

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/04/2019 - 25/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I had been working as a preschool teacher at a play based, nature inspired program, up until February of this year. I am now on a writing, and learning sabbatical.

    Ultimately, I aim to cultivate a space for holistic learning and sustainable living.

    I am interested in homeschooling/ unschooling, education anarchy and forest schools.

    I am interested in foraging, food forests, permaculture, botany, community spaces and off grid living. I would like to learn more about these things through hands on experience.

    I am passionate about the climate and ecological crisis we are facing and in light of our circumstances, feel it most necessary to adopt a way of life that is self sufficient, sustainable and in balance with my environment.

    I feel it is not only important to take on this work in my life style, but to extend it to my local community and culture.

    In my work with children, I feel it is important to offer skills, tools and understanding to young people that empower them to mind their environment and lead rich, balanced, regenerative lives in the years to come.

    I strive to limit the use of currency to meet essential needs, and aim to practice predominately work trade, and bartering systems, so naturally, I am looking for spaces that are compatible with this approach.

    In shared spaces and community work environments, I am particularly concerned with power dynamics, and communication protocols. For me, it is important that autonomy and communication of needs and abilities are prioritized in the organization of peoples- that individuals are responsible for voicing their needs and abilities so as to limits oversights and potential conflicts of interest, and that space is held for this to occur.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a creative non-fiction writer. I play and compose songs on the ukulele. I have practiced yoga for several years, and I am very passionate about the outdoors. All of these interests, I share openly with the children in my care.
    I believe it is so important to engage children in meaningful ways and to provoke curiosity and exploration of the outdoors. I am a strong advocate for play based, child centered learning.

    I am traveling as a way to learn myself. I am always looking for a new experiences, insights, approaches, and skills. I devote myself to whatever I do, always striving to contribute the best of myself to the community's I participate in.

    While early learning is my focus, I have experience with many kinds of work. My father owned a house painting company and for many years I worked for him. I also worked in the service industry, catering, hospitality, and as a receptionist and figure model as well.

    Having grown up around horses, goats, chickens, bunnies, cats, and dogs, taking care of animals brings me great joy.

    Skills I would like to develop include permaculture design and application, herbalism, foraging, canning, community building and group discussion facilitation, gardening, animal care, sustainable living practices and strategies.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I am passionate about children having learning autonomy and opportunities to explore the outdoors to build meaningful connections with nature.

    I hope to deepen my understanding of the sustainable living and permaculture projects.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am a pescatarian, so I do not eat meat, but I do eat fish.

Profile is connected to:

sarah_suezanna


Photos

Feedback