Javier & Raúl

  • Spain
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! We are Javier and Raúl, two 19-year-old Spanish friends. We live in the outskirts of Madrid, Spain. We enjoy nature, walks in the countryside, and whenever we can we like to go to the mountains.

    We love travelling, and we want to look for a new experience in Workaway to help other people at the same time that we get to know a new culture. We would love to be able to travel to Ireland, and we are looking to do so this summer on an Irish farm or ecological project so that we can help while learning new things.

    (Raúl): I am studying Agricultural Engineering, so I am passionate about everything to do with agriculture, farms, animals and nature in general. Since I was very young I have lived in the countryside, and I had my own vegetable garden, which I enjoyed very much. Also, I love plants, and probably this love I have for them is since my mother has a flower shop. I grew up helping her with it and it's something I really enjoy doing.

    (Javi): I am currently on a gap year, studying languages (improving my English and French), as well as giving private lessons to children. This year I'm going to start studying Translation and Interpreting, as I'm fascinated by everything to do with languages and other cultures. I also really enjoy being in the countryside, and I am excited to learn about an authentic way of life. I love children, and I spend time with them whenever I can, taking care of them or helping them with their subjects. I also love art and history, and I don't stop learning whenever I can. And I really like photography.

    We are both looking forward to a new journey together, one that allows us to help others, even in these uncertain times.

    We have also been involved in various volunteering activities, such as food distribution and helping the homeless through NGOs such as Cooperación Internacional.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Technology

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    (Raúl): I am studying Agricultural Engineering, which is allowing me to learn more and more about the rural world and the world of agriculture. In addition, I grew up far from the city in a small village, where I was able to develop my love of organic gardens. On the other hand, my mother, being a florist, taught me everything there is to learn about ornamental plants and gardening. My mother tongue is Spanish and I would love to improve my English, but above all, to learn from those who live in an environment full of nature. I love animals of all kinds and especially having them as companions. I like cooking and I try to discover new recipes that fill my kitchen with vitality. I have been a skating teacher in many schools in Madrid and I have a close relationship with children, being the eldest of my siblings I have always taken care of them and above all I love teaching them at school or taking care of them when they need it.

    (Javi): I am going to start a degree in Translation and Interpreting because I love foreign languages and cultures. I have always loved nature, animals and plants. I really enjoyed taking care of the pets I had, such as dogs, birds, etc. And I would love to learn about plants and growing, as I have several indoor plants that I love. I have always loved children and have, on several occasions, taken care of my own family members and other children in camps and activities. I currently tutor children, help them with their homework and try to teach them the best I can.
    As I said, I love languages, and I am willing to improve my English and teach Spanish as well if someone needs it :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We would love to improve our English and teach Spanish as well.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    19 & 19

  • What else ...

    We both love the family atmosphere, talking to other people and learning about other customs and lifestyles.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback