Jake & Armonie

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/08/2019 - 31/01/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello - we are Jake and Armonie. We are both 26 years old from the UK but moved to New Zealand in January 2019. We lived in Queenstown for 7 months and loved it, but we were ready for new challenges and a change of scenery. We travelled around the country and doing various farm work, including chicken farming and dairy farming in the Abel Tasman National Park. We have worked on an Organic Farm in Feilding, looked after two beautiful horses in Hawke's Bay, and helped with garden work for the renovation of a new property in Athenree. After our incredible NZ adventure, we moved to Melbourne where we have been living since December 2019.
    We are both adventurous, outgoing people and are excited by the prospect of visiting new places and meeting new people from all kinds of backgrounds. In our free time we like to get outdoors as much as possible whether it be hiking, kayaking, camping.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Together we have a pretty varied skill set. Jake has a lot of stable-hand/farm experience but has also spent 7 years as a project manager for a commercial kitchen contractors. Armonie spent three years studying Theatre and English at the University of Exeter, however after a lot of time on the stage in Exeter and London, she realised this wasn’t the career for her, and ended up working in Planning (Local Government) which she really enjoyed and stayed in for three years. Whilst in New Zealand, Jake has worked in maintenance/gardening and then worked as a 3IC at Macpac, an outdoor clothing company. Armonie has worked at Go Orange, a white-water rafting company. We have worked on a few farms recently so have experience in feeding chickens, lambs and cows, as well as day-to-day running of the farm. We have also done a lot of maintenance and gardening jobs.
    We are both good with children - Jake has a 5 year old niece who has autism who needs special care and attention, and Armonie has also worked teaching in a primary school, and done various community projects which involved working with children.
    Having grown up surrounded by pets we are both animal lovers. Between us we have owned dogs, cats, rabbits, goats and horses.
    We absolutely love the outdoors and spend our free time hiking, kayaking, camping and generally exploring! Other hobbies include smoothie making, cooking a mean roast dinner, arts and crafts, scrabble!

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    27 & 26

  • What else ...

    Our hobbies/interests include hiking, snowboarding, kayaking, camping, music, films, socialising, architecture, yoga

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback