Jacqueline

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/11/2019 - 10/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi there!
    My name is Jackie and I'm from Germany, though I constantly try to escape from there by travelling to other countries. ;) I am about to finish my one-year work and travel visa in Canada and am now looking forward to experience some new adventures in the US! I am curious to meeting new people, experience nature, get to know different ways of life and- ideally - also gain some work experience either in my field (I worked in cultural institutions so far, did marketing jobs, worked as receptionist, in customer service and gave language lessons) or in a field that is completely new to me. I'm an open-minded Person, so I'm always happy to meet new people or face new challenges, like trying to start a new life on another continent, doing jobs or activities totally new to me or trying that food I never dared to try before. ;)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I don't know if I can call those special skills, but here's what I did so far:
    I have a Bachelor's degree in French and comparative literature and a Master's degree in cultural, language and media studies. So I pretty much know how to read and create texts. ;) During my studies I gained many experiences in Marketing and Communications, I worked in language institutions, helped pupils improving their school marks in French and German, I participated in the organisation and realization of cultural events and welcomed people as receptionist. I did a lot of administrative work as well, so I know how to handle WORD, EXCEL, how to maintain websites, create content and I also have some basic knowledge of InDesign. Currently I am working as customer service representative for a whale and bear watching company in a lovely little town in Western Canada!

    German is my first language, so my German language skills are quite good! Thanks to travels and internships in Australia, Canada and France my English and French are not too bad either. During my travels, I also learned how to use a jackhammer, how to prune vine plants, how to sell a ridiculous amount of strawberries to people on the streets, how to pack oranges as quickly as possible and how to piece French Macarons together. ;) Some recent workaway experiences include the maintenance of hiking trails, gardening, preparing pizzas and painting a beautiful old wooden boat on a remote Island in Western Canada. Apart from that, I also worked as waitress in a café and welcomed people as hostess on international fairs.

    So from the various things I did so far it is hard for me to name a special skill. Maybe it all comes down to adaptability, openness and the curiosity to try new things. And I would call myself a team player, even though my skills in team sports are rather poor. ;)
    Ah, and I know a bit how to dance and to cook and bake!

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, French, a tiny little bit of Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Horses

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback