Ianthe

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/06/2020 - 20/12/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello everyone! :)

    I'm a brand new workaway-er from Australia, who's been living in the Netherlands for a semester university exchange since January this year (double degree in business management and psychology). My exchange is now up, which means I'm free to travel around Europe working on projects for the rest of this year, before I return home (and yes, I really did pick the year to go abroad, huh)

    I'm particularly interested in house restoration, and I'm always eager to expand my existing gardening and permaculture skills. I'm very handy with general renovations, animal care (I have plenty of experience from working in a dog rescue), and can talk your ear off about visual art, Australian national parks and bushwalking, and Australian wine.

    I'm not much of a massive party animal, so living off the beaten path in quiet areas with plenty of trees is ideal for me. I'm working on a couple of novelettes and an ongoing blog, so if you're the type of person who likes to have a bit of quiet time at the end of the day, we'll probably get along very well :)

    I've been an ongoing volunteer since age 17, and I'm used to working autonomously with many different groups of diverse people. My childhood was pretty much spent camping, and I've lived for an extended period in Timor-Leste, so please don't feel like I'm too precious about getting dirty and working hard.

    If there's anything else you'd like to ask me, feel free! Looking forward to seeing you :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Specific skills (this is not an exhaustive list, just my strongest points):

    - gardening and permaculture knowledge: general maintenance to planning sustainable gardens.
    - renovation skills: painting, sanding, laying flooring, some heavy lifting.
    - animal care: pretty much all types of animals, general care to managing and caring for large numbers (specific experience with caring for large numbers of dogs, however I'm flexible)
    - general house keeping: nothing unusual here, the typical cleaning and cooking skills you would expect from a tidy adult. I can cook a mean vegan curry if that's exciting for you.

    If there's a specific task that is central to your project that I haven't listed above, reach out and ask if that's something I have experience in, the above list isn't a be-all-end-all :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    (I'll add that you can also see my Mum in my profile picture, just to clarify, I'm the lady with dark hair at the front, lol)

    Overall, people consider me easy to get along with, and I can keep an interesting conversation up to say the least :) I feel like hyping myself up too much here would be counter-productive.

    If you're looking for a hands-on gardener to help around your property, I'm your gal! Bonus points for both of us if there's hiking trails close by for the weekend or afternoons :)

    See you soon!
    Ianthe

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback