Holger

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/08/2019 - 26/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi,
    I'm a 24 year old German guy. I guess thats kinda of a given for People doing workaway but I'm curious to get to know new places and people.
    I'm more of an introvert than extrovert but that doesn't mean I don't still enjoy working or just doing stuff together or talk about anything under the sun. Through Family, scouts and my own travels I've visited a fair number of European countries but I never really had, or to be fair, made the opportunity to stay and work in some place for a while and to get to know it and the people better.

    My hope with Workaway is to do something different. To live and work, and may it just be for a while, some place else and getting to know People ;)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    - I have participated in a number of (three) renovations and in that context have done a variety of tasks, like removing wallpaper, digging and laying Drainage, removing rubble, painting interior and exterior walls.

    - I did a volunteer year in a Youth Hostel. There I primarily did reception work (taking calls, booking guests, check-in/-out, selling Snacks etc) but also did other work like preparing and keeping the breakfast buffet stocked, room cleaning and preparation for guests, cleaning the premises aswell as Closing the doors at night and typically being the contact Person for guests if there was an issue during the night.

    - I did a total of 10 weeks of carpentry internships. Additional to that I build two wall Units and did a variety of carpentry related works like help my Father here and there in building a wood sailing boat, repair fences, build a new roof of a shed in our garden or repair Trolleys (to move material) at the scouts.

    - I currently I do some gardening, less tending vegetables or flowers and more lawnmowing, cutting back bushes, cutting down small trees, shoveling the gravel on a car entryway to a different place...

    Outdoor activities related stuff:

    I have experience doing trekking tours (alone and in groups).
    I can do Downhill and cross-country skiing (some experience with snow-shoes, back-country and skitouring).
    I have experience kayaking and canoing (including in white water of intermediate difficulty).

  • Languages spoken

    I am a native German speaker. My English is pretty good. My French is honestly pretty bad and in itself not enough for more than the MOST basic communication

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

During a hostel stay in Accra, Ghana. At the end of a one month development project.
Me while hiking on the Hardangervidda, Norway.
Interrogating the map prior to that hike on the Hardangervidda.
Halfway through an afternoon of gardening.
Hiking on the Isle of Arran on a free day during a Workaway
Clearing out bramble during a Workaway on the Isle of Arran

Feedback