Hermen

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/01/2019 - 30/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Former philosophy-student, cocktailshaker and drummer. Now travelling the world looking for (voluntary) jobs/experience in the environmental field and some good adventures.

    My minor in international development made me realise how much is wrong with it and that I want to put any of my future actions/jobs in service of bettering it. I picked Latin America because it seems like the perfect place to get some experience in the green field and because I always get along with latin people very well! People tell me I would fit in much better in latin culture than in my own; I enjoy and get energy from meeting new interesting people and am very open to (understanding) any culture or ideology. I enjoy the weird part of life and will always participate in any unusual adventure:)

    I grew up on a farm/estate with bees, chickens and sheep, gaining a lot of practical skills on the way. When I turned 18, I moved to Amsterdam to study Philosophy. During my study, I took some anthropology classes and took a minor in international development (sustainability etc.). The Amsterdam nightlife grabbed my interest; I started working as a bartender and host, and ended up starting my own company in high end hospitality.

    After I graduated, I spent 8 months helping my parents out in a hard situation. Their farm, dating from 1650, wasn't fit for them to grow old in, so they decided to build a barn attached to it that would. Unfortunately the contractor messed with the foundation of the old house , which led to the collapse of a part of the building. The contractor walked away and pushed his lawyers forward, leaving my parents in a horrible situation. I started living in the 'ruin' on my own, promising I wouldn't leave until the house would be livable again. This entailed coordinating the build/renovation as well as working as a builder myself. I learned a lot during this period, and am ready for new projects and adventures moving forward!

    I'm into art, especially music and literature. I've played the drums since I was a kid and played in some bands producing our own music. I listen to music whenever I can and enjoy almost every kind, although the Doors are my all time favorite.
    Literature is my other passion; I've read most Dutch literature, and currently catching up with literature from around the world. I write literature and poems as well, but unfortunately only in Dutch.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Licensed beekeeper
    Drummer
    Writing
    Farm knowledge
    Building/renovating
    Cooking

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent Dutch and Eglish, eager to learn Spanish!

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback