Karen & Helmut

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2020 - 31/03/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    KAREN: I worked as a teacher for elementary school till 2011. In Winter 11/12 I worked with Helmut the winterseason (5 month) in a hotel belonging to a huge huskyfarm in Finnish-Lapland. From summer 2013 til summer 2014 we worked as housekeepers for rich people in Berlin. In the meantime we travelled or I worked as a housekeeper in our hometown Münster. During the Winter 2015/16 I worked via workaway for several weeks on a huge farm in the Outback of South Australia. The last Winter (2018/19) I was 'workawayer' for 3 months in Swedish-Lapland in a local hostel and did a lot of renovation. Now I work as a housekeeper in our hometown again.

    HELMUT: I learned electrician many years ago and worked in several electrician (private) projects. More than 20 years I worked as a socialworker in adult education till 2011. With Karen I worked in Finnish- and Swedish - Lapland, South-Australia and Berlin (see above). Now I work as facility-manager and greenkeeper in our hometown again.

    We are fit in renovation and painting of houses / flats, quick and well organised. In Germany we own a forest and have both good skills in forest-working including chain-sawing. We both love to work animals.

    We like to travel and explore new countries. We found out that the best way to learn about a country is to work and be with people.

    We are interested on long-term working up to three month and are very flexible about the exact date.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    KAREN:
    Housekeeping (cleaning, laundry...) gardening, renovating buildings, painting, working with animals, foresting, woodwork...


    HELMUT:
    Gardening, driver, cooking, guesthosting, small repairs (especially electricity), renovating buildings, working with animals, computering foresting, woodwork...

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Beginner
    Sami: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Age

    59 & 62

  • Nationality

    german (both)

  • What else ...

    We're open about the exact Dates of staying (Start, End, perhaps longer than 3 month), Love to work on a Station in the Outback (as we did before years ago)!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      none

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Photos

Feedback