Harry

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Norway, Spain, Sweden, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/07/2017 - 17/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    295

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Harry; I am 19 years old; born, raised and living in England. I've Just finished with school and have decided to take one or two year break before beginning a university education to have a bit of an adventure!

    I consider myself clean and 'self-contained' and make a point of keeping my living space tidy whenever possible and consider myself a fast learner. I have a full UK driving license. Not very picky with food and willing to try almost anything (fried Guinea pig is my record for unusual foods so far) at the risk of having to buy new underwear (A hard lesson learned).

    I am physically fit and an active person and I enjoy and will happily participate in pretty much all sports and fitness activities and am an active runner, kayaker, hiker and boulderer, with some experience in sailing and skiing also. In my down time i love reading, socialising and occasionally drawing and painting with water colours (I'm far from the best but i enjoy it all the same - they look like Picasso but its not intentional).

    I am also actively learning Spanish and am currently at a basic level, looking to improve.

    In July of 2016, i spent a month in Peru on a volunteering trip which mostly involved manual labour, basic building work,creating Adobe (mixing and moulding mud bricks and ovens) and landscaping work for communities that could not afford workers. It was incredible, not just to help but to meet so many new people as well and experience how people live in different parts of the world!

    In the summer of 2017 i spent 3 weeks in Italy staying with a host family through workaway (https://www.workaway.info/587858354888-en.html) teaching English to their children and learning how to sail, i had a fantastic time with Alessandra, Andrea and the family and really enjoyed the Italian lifestyle and food!

    I spent 3 weeks in Spain’s with workaway hosts Sarah and john in December and had an incredibly time with them and the other workawayers + meg the cat and shep the dog (https://www.workaway.info/26273942294c-en.html)

    I spent 4 weeks in the Czech Republic in janruary this year in an incredible experience at spindleruv mlyn ski resort through workaway also (https://www.workaway.info/893122127544-en.html)

    I pride myself in a willingness to try, I have no problem doing manual labour, heavy lifting, shopping, animal care or any other tasks, experienced or not - i'm just pleased to be there helping and learning new skills in a new environment (I'm not an amazing cook by any means but i would love to learn). I have a bit of an undeniable passion for the outdoors; sand, snow, rain or sun, I'm happy to give any task or job a try and i'm not afraid to get muddy and dirty doing it!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    - Have experience in manual labour; working for my Dad (a building contractor) and volunteering projects abroad.
    - A decent amount of experience in landscaping/gardening (I worked in a garden centre for 9 months during my last year of school.
    - Basic computer skills, currently learning how to code (slowly but surely).
    - Lots of experience with customers/tourists (I have worked several customer service jobs in the past including, fast food, pub work and a garden centre)

  • Languages spoken

    English and basic Spanish

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am open to both long and short term stays

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Workaway from this past summer; Learning to sail on Andrea and Alessandras yacht 'Yulia' off the coast of Italy

Feedback